forecasting
agent
← back to scans

Will a confirmed human case of pneumonic plague be reported in the United States before November 1, 2026?

kalshiScience and Technology·2026-10-15·view on kalshi ↗
3%
Agent
9%
Market Price
-6.0%
Edge
72%
Confidence
31,557
Volume
2.0c
Spread
17
Days to resolution
3
Markets in event
final rationale
Mean of 2 draws (0.03, 0.03). (0) No source shows a qualifying case. The CDC statistics page (updated Oct 7) lists none for 2026, provisional data show only two 2026 US cases (AZ in April, NM in June), and neither is described as pneumonic. The 'Pueblo case' turned out to be a stale 2024 article. (a) About 16 days remain until the Nov 1, 2026 ET deadline. (b) The status quo is No: no suspected US pneumonic case is reported. (c) No: the Russian event stays unconfirmed with contacts cleared, and no domestic case is confirmed with its form specified before Nov 1. (d) Yes: a sporadic cat- or rodent-linked primary pneumonic case in the Southwest, or a symptomatic traveler, is confirmed and announced as pneumonic by CDC or a state agency within the window. On base rates, CDC counted 18 pneumonic cases in 1942–2018 plus cases in 2021 and 2025, about 0.25–0.3 a year. That implies roughly 1–1.5% for a 16-day window, falling to well under that given late-season decline, diagnostic lag and the need for the form to be stated. On imports, there have been no plague cases in returning US travelers in more than 40 years. Russia reports negative tests for the patient and 197 contacts, direct flights are suspended, and only about 4 people a week travel from Siberia to the US. The Kalshi price of 9% (bid 7/ask 8, last close 4%) looks inflated by the Russia headlines that have since faded, so I price below it at about 3%, keeping a margin for case-reporting surprises and resolution ambiguity.
price vs. prediction
market price agent forecast at t+0
4 follow-ups
re-scan context
This market has been scanned before. Previous predictions:
datepredictedmarket priceconfidence
2026-10-06 7% 19% 70%
1. Planner Opus 5.5 · picks the research tools
Tools chosen: kalshi_direct resolution_source kalshi_related polymarket_related wikipedia gdelt_news
Planner reasoning
Kalshi direct gives the price anchor with about two weeks left. The resolution source is the CDC plague page and health-department reports. CDC data on US plague cases, which are rare and mostly bubonic, gives the base rate. Related markets on the Russian outbreak let us triangulate the price.
2. Research parallel tool calls + 4 web research loops (Sonnet 5.5) · read raw by the forecasters
at a glance
RESEARCH DIGEST (built in code: tool summaries and each report's bottom line; the forecasters read the full tool outputs and reports) Tools - kalshi_direct: ## This Market's Kalshi Data **Before November 1, 2026** (KXPNEUMONICPLAGUE-01JAN27-01NOV26) - Current price (probability): 9.00% (live; bid 7% / ask 8%) - Last daily close (2026-10-14): 4.00% - 7-day price change: -1.00% - 30-day price change: -10.00% - Average daily volume: 2889 contracts - Price range: 4.00% - 19.00% - Data points: 9 days - resolution_source: already_resolved=unclear; matches_criteria=True; last_updated=2026-10-07. The named CDC Plague Maps and Statistics page (dated Oct. 7, 2026) gives only historical data covering 1970–2025 and an average of about five cases a year. It does not report any 2026 pneumonic plague case. As of Oct 6–8, 2026, news reports have CDC tracking a suspected pneumonic plague death in Irkutsk, Russia and saying th - kalshi_related: 0 related markets / summaries. series KXPNEUMONICPLAGUE: 0 markets (skipped 3 no-signal) | keyword 'plague': no matches | keyword 'Russia outbreak': no matches - polymarket_related: Polymarket search over 2 keyword(s), kept 5 matches. keyword 'plague': 5 markets | keyword 'pneumonic': 0 markets - wikipedia: Fetched 2 Wikipedia entries (0 missing pages). - gdelt_news: GDELT: 0 articles across 2 queries (lookback=30d). 'pneumonic plague case United States confirmed': error GDELT rate-limited after retries (429) | 'Russia pneumonic plague outbreak': error GDELT rate-limited after retries (429) Research loops, bottom lines - current state: No US pneumonic plague case has been confirmed, and nothing suggests an import. The Russian event appears contained, with contacts cleared and plague not diagnosed. A Yes would most likely need a rare sporadic domestic pneumonic case, which averages well under one a year, or an unlikely import. - base rate: Outside view: about 1 confirmed pneumonic case in the US every 2–4 years, most recently July 2025, so a roughly 2.5-week window has a very low base rate, at most a few percent. The Russian event adds little because it is unconfirmed as plague, contacts tested negative, and US traveler volume from Siberia is small. - yes case: The strongest Yes path is a sporadic domestic primary pneumonic case, probably cat- or rodent-linked in the Southwest and confirmed late. It would be a roughly one-in-several-years event. Heightened Siberia-travel screening adds a small, speculative import route, since the Russian case is unconfirmed as plague and contacts tested negative. - no case: Every route to Yes (a rare domestic animal-linked case, an import, or a Russian spillover) has a very low base rate, and the Russian event has no confirmed plague and no US-bound cases. The status quo, with no case so far in 2026, a seasonal decline, and strict "form-specified and first confirmed in window" criteria, all favor NO.
tools
toolstatustimeitemssummary
kalshi_direct OK 0.2s 1 ## This Market's Kalshi Data **Before November 1, 2026** (KXPNEUMONICPLAGUE-01JAN27-01NOV26) - Current price (probability): 9.00% (live; bid 7% / ask 8%) - Last daily close (2026-10-14): 4.00% - 7-day price change: -1.00% - 30-day price change: -10.00% - Average daily volume: 2889 contracts - Price
resolution_source OK 13.3s 1 already_resolved=unclear; matches_criteria=True; last_updated=2026-10-07. The named CDC Plague Maps and Statistics page (dated Oct. 7, 2026) gives only historical data covering 1970–2025 and an average of about five cases a year. It does not report any 2026 pneumonic plague case. As of Oct 6–8, 2026
kalshi_related OK 0.6s 0 0 related markets / summaries. series KXPNEUMONICPLAGUE: 0 markets (skipped 3 no-signal) | keyword 'plague': no matches | keyword 'Russia outbreak': no matches
polymarket_related OK 0.4s 5 Polymarket search over 2 keyword(s), kept 5 matches. keyword 'plague': 5 markets | keyword 'pneumonic': 0 markets
wikipedia OK 0.3s 2 Fetched 2 Wikipedia entries (0 missing pages).
gdelt_news OK 137.8s 0 GDELT: 0 articles across 2 queries (lookback=30d). 'pneumonic plague case United States confirmed': error GDELT rate-limited after retries (429) | 'Russia pneumonic plague outbreak': error GDELT rate-limited after retries (429)
research loops · 4/4 ok · 19 searches · 3 page reads
dimensionstatustimesearchespage readsreport
current state OK 21s 6 3 4244 chars
base rate OK 15s 4 0 3843 chars
yes case OK 22s 5 0 4603 chars
no case OK 20s 4 0 4433 chars
report: current state
- [2026-10-15] I found no report of a confirmed human pneumonic plague case in the US in 2026 up to today. CDC's plague statistics page was last updated 2026-10-07. It gives an average of about five human plague cases a year, more than 80% of them bubonic. https://www.cdc.gov/plague/maps-statistics/index.html - [2026-10-05] A third-party tracker (plagueintel.com) lists two US human plague cases in 2026 from provisional CDC data through week 39. They are Apache County, AZ (April, recovered) and a fatal Santa Fe County, NM case (June). Neither is reported as pneumonic. https://plagueintel.com/countries/united-states - [2026-06-11] The New Mexico Department of Health reported a Santa Fe County woman died of plague. The release doesn't state the form. https://www.nmhealth.org/news/awareness/2026/6/?view=2344 - [2026-10-01] An MMWR "Notes from the Field" (vol. 75, issue 38) describes a fatal pneumonic plague case in Coconino County, AZ, in July 2025. It was linked to sick cats, and 46 contacts got prophylaxis. This was a retrospective report of a 2025 case and does not count toward 2026. https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/75/wr/mm7538a2.htm - [~2026-09-06] Pueblo County, CO announced a confirmed human plague case about 39 days before the search. Contagion Live says the form was not specified. I did not find a date or form. If it was pneumonic, it was reported before the question window. https://www.contagionlive.com/view/a-case-of-the-plague-confirmed-in-the-us - [2026-10-02] A 28-year-old worker at the Irkutsk anti-plague institute in Russia died after being hospitalized with severe pneumonia on 29 September. Russia's IHR focal point told WHO that no plague case was registered. It said the patient and contacts tested negative for plague and other high-threat pathogens, and that the death was "pneumonia of undetermined etiology". The diagnosis is unconfirmed. https://www.who.int/emergencies/disease-outbreak-news/item/2026-DON620 - [2026-10-10] The WHO Disease Outbreak News said Russia reported that 7-day contact monitoring was complete and all contacts stayed asymptomatic. It said WHO found no evidence of ongoing transmission and advises no travel or trade restrictions. https://www.who.int/emergencies/disease-outbreak-news/item/2026-DON620 - [2026-10-08] Russia called reports of a second plague case "false information". WHO had asked Russia to respond to those reports. https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/8/russia-dismisses-reports-of-second-plague-case-as-false-information - [2026-10-07] CDC Director Erica Schwartz said the US threat is "extremely low". Per HHS, about 200 people a year fly from Siberia to the US, mostly into JFK, where CDC has a port health station for screening. https://www.axios.com/2026/10/07/us-siberia-travelers-russia-plague-case - [2026-10-08] CDC said it has measures to identify and assess travelers from the region. There are no do-not-board orders. https://abcnews.com/Health/cdc-measures-place-assess-travelers-russian-region-plague/story?id=137090641 - [2026-10-07] The US State Department sent Russia a formal request for information. Trump said on 10-08 that the bioweapon theory is not believed, per Al Jazeera. https://www.washingtonpost.com/national-security/2026/10/06/us-preparing-formal-request-russia-information-plague-death/ - [2026-10-13] Madagascar reported a suspected cluster of pneumonic plague with 3 deaths and about 200 contacts on antibiotics. It is remote and no US link is reported. https://riotimesonline.com/madagascar-plague-2026 - [2026-10-15] I found no scheduled event before 2026-11-01 that would change the outcome. The only items are ongoing WHO and CDC monitoring and screening. BOTTOM LINE: No US pneumonic plague case has been confirmed, and nothing suggests an import. The Russian event appears contained, with contacts cleared and plague not diagnosed. A Yes would most likely need a rare sporadic domestic pneumonic case, which averages well under one a year, or an unlikely import. NOT FOUND: Any US suspected or confirmed pneumonic plague case dated October 2026. The date and form of the Pueblo, CO case. The form of the 2026 NM and AZ cases. The CDC provisional 2026 case table by form. Any scheduled events before November 1.
report: base rate
- [2026-10-07] CDC says the US averages about five human plague cases a year (range 0–17), and over 80% are bubonic. Pneumonic cases are therefore a small subset, roughly 0–1 a year. https://www.cdc.gov/plague/maps-statistics/index.html - [2026-10-11] CDC's 2000–2025 data show 131 cases and 17 deaths. The peak years were 2006 (17 cases) and 2015 (16 cases). Person-to-person US transmission has not been confirmed since 1924, though a possible instance was investigated in Colorado in 2014. https://www.rt.com/news/646938-us-annual-plague-average-revised/ - [2026-10-01] An MMWR report describes the one confirmed US pneumonic case in 2025, a fatal case in Coconino County, Arizona, in July. Exposure was to two sick cats, and 46 contacts received prophylaxis. https://plagueintel.com/countries/united-states - [2021-09] Wyoming had a pneumonic case linked to sick pet cats. Recent US pneumonic cases (Wyoming 2021, Colorado 2014, Arizona 2025) are rare and mostly from animal exposure, about one every few years. https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/wr/mm7124a5.htm - [1992-08] Arizona's 1992 pneumonic case was described as the first pneumonic case that year and "rare in the United States", which is consistent with the low base rate. https://cdc.gov/MMWR/preview/mmwrhtml/00017717.htm - [2026-09-26] Provisional CDC data show 2 US human plague cases in 2026: Apache County, Arizona (April, recovered) and Santa Fe County, New Mexico (fatal, June). Neither was reported as pneumonic. https://thehill.com/homenews/state-watch/6131883-plague-cases-still-occur-in-the-us-heres-where/ - [2026-09 approx.] A Pueblo County, Colorado human plague case was reported about 39 days before the search, which I read as early September. The plague type was not specified in the report, and I could not confirm it was pneumonic. It would also pre-date Issuance. https://www.contagionlive.com/view/a-case-of-the-plague-confirmed-in-the-us - [2026-10-10] The WHO Disease Outbreak News says the Irkutsk lab worker died on 2 October of pneumonia. Russia says testing found no plague or other high-threat pathogens, so it was classified as pneumonia of undetermined etiology. Contacts tested negative, and WHO advises no travel or trade restrictions. https://www.who.int/emergencies/disease-outbreak-news/item/2026-DON620 - [2026-10-07] CDC director Schwartz called the US threat "extremely low". About 200 people a year fly from Siberia to the US, mostly via JFK, where CDC has a port health station for screening. https://www.axios.com/2026/10/07/us-siberia-travelers-russia-plague-case - [2026-10-06] CDC said there is no indication of a broader threat to the US. https://www.semafor.com/article/10/06/2026/cdc-closely-monitoring-suspected-pneumonic-plague-case - [2026-10-08] Russia dismissed reports of a second suspected case as false information. https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/8/russia-dismisses-reports-of-second-plague-case-as-false-information - [2026-10-13] Madagascar reported 4 confirmed and 5 suspected plague cases, with no stated US link. Madagascar's season typically runs from August to April, so imported cases are a theoretical, very low-frequency route. https://www.thestar.com.my/news/world/2026/10/14/madagascar-reports-4-confirmed-plague-cases BOTTOM LINE: Outside view: about 1 confirmed pneumonic case in the US every 2–4 years, most recently July 2025, so a roughly 2.5-week window has a very low base rate, at most a few percent. The Russian event adds little because it is unconfirmed as plague, contacts tested negative, and US traveler volume from Siberia is small. NOT FOUND: Any confirmed US pneumonic case after 2026-10-05. The plague type of the Pueblo County, Colorado case. Any Kalshi sibling contracts or other forecasts (not searched for). A year-by-year count of US pneumonic cases (only totals were found).
report: yes case
YES means: a confirmed human case of pneumonic plague, diagnosed and first officially confirmed in the United States, is reported by a source agency (CDC or state or local health department) after Issuance (2026-10-05) and before 2026-11-01 ET. - [2026-10-15] The Pueblo County, CO case cited earlier is not a 2026 event. The Contagion Live article was dated July 8, 2024, and CPR and KKTV reported that case as bubonic. It does not count as a pneumonic precedent, and the colleague's "~Sept 2026" dating looks mistaken. https://www.contagionlive.com/view/a-case-of-the-plague-confirmed-in-the-us - [2026-10-07] The CDC page was updated 2026-10-07 and says over 80% of US cases are bubonic. It says cases in the eastern US come from western travelers or lab exposure. It also lists the Southwest and the California/Oregon/Nevada region as the endemic foci. The "lab exposure" route is the only formal pathway for a non-western case. https://www.cdc.gov/plague/maps-statistics/index.html - [2021-09] Nationwide, 18 pneumonic cases were reported over 1942–2018 (about one every four years), and Wyoming's 2021 case was initially suspected to be COVID. Pneumonic cases are often caught late and confused with other pneumonias. A Yes would most plausibly be a late-season domestic case with pet-cat exposure, as in Wyoming 2021 and Arizona 2025, where cats were the vector. https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/wr/mm7124a5.htm - [2026-10-13] A Medical Xpress Q&A (UC Riverside) says the Irkutsk worker "appears" to have had the pneumonic form and describes aerosolization from a broken tube. This is expert inference from media reports, and Russia has not confirmed it as plague. The Q&A's related-news list also carries an item "Oct 6, 2026 An Oregon resident was diagnosed with the plague". I could not verify this. It may be a mis-dated link to the Feb 2024 Oregon case, and I found no 2026 Oregon plague report. https://medicalxpress.com/news/2026-10-qa-expert-discusses-russian-plague.html - [2026-10-02] The Moscow Times, citing Buryatia's head, said the Irkutsk woman died of an unspecified form of plague. She reportedly broke a tube of live bacteria and was hospitalized with severe pneumonia. A US import would need an exposed person to have left Russia. At least 197 contacts were isolated, so that is unlikely. https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2026/10/02/nearly-200-people-under-observation-after-irkutsk-lab-worker-dies-from-plague-a93857 - [2026-10-06] NBC reported Russia's contact tests found two COVID and two rhinovirus cases and no plague. Russian authorities had not confirmed plague. Even so, a State Department spokesperson referred to "suspected pneumonic plague". The US government is therefore treating it as a live possibility, which raises the chance that any US pneumonia with Siberian travel history gets tested for Y. pestis. https://www.nbcnews.com/world/russia/russia-says-no-plague-found-contacts-siberian-lab-worker-died-rcna601805 - [2026-10-07] About 200 people a year fly from Siberia to the US, per HHS, which is about 4 a week. CDC screening at JFK and interagency monitoring raise detection odds for anyone arriving symptomatic. Heightened screening and testing can turn a suspected case into a confirmed one. https://www.axios.com/2026/10/07/us-siberia-travelers-russia-plague-case - [2026-10-06] A second Russian death was claimed on Oct 6 and WHO asked Russia about it on Oct 7. It stayed unconfirmed. If Russia later reverses its negative plague finding, import concern would rise, but nothing yet shows that. https://whn.global/suspected-plague-event-in-irkutsk-russia-lessons-on-early-response/ - [2026-10-08] The Epoch Times, citing CDC, says no US person-to-person pneumonic transmission has occurred since the 1920s. The only 2025–2026 fatal US plague cases it names are the Arizona (cats) case and the New Mexico woman's. https://www.theepochtimes.com/us/plague-cases-still-reported-in-the-us-see-where-6101146 BOTTOM LINE: The strongest Yes path is a sporadic domestic primary pneumonic case, probably cat- or rodent-linked in the Southwest and confirmed late. It would be a roughly one-in-several-years event. Heightened Siberia-travel screening adds a small, speculative import route, since the Russian case is unconfirmed as plague and contacts tested negative. NOT FOUND: Any US suspected or confirmed pneumonic plague case in October 2026. The plague form of the 2026 Arizona and New Mexico cases. A verified 2026 Oregon plague case. A year-by-year US pneumonic count after 2018. Any report of an infected traveler from Russia or Madagascar in the US.
report: no case
YES means: a confirmed human case of pneumonic plague (not bubonic, septicemic or unspecified) is first officially confirmed in the US by a Source Agency after Issuance and before midnight ET at the start of 2026-11-01. - [2026-10-15] The "Pueblo County case about 39 days ago" in the earlier report is a stale item. The Contagion Live page is dated July 8, 2024, and its text says the plague form was not given. The "39 days" figure is a page-age artifact. So there is no 2026 Pueblo case, and no pending Colorado pneumonic lead. https://www.contagionlive.com/view/a-case-of-the-plague-confirmed-in-the-us - [2026-10-07] The CDC page lists no 2026 pneumonic case. Its "over 80% bubonic" and "five a year" figures are unchanged. It links a 1970–2025 case table, so any 2026 case would first appear only in provisional data. https://www.cdc.gov/plague/maps-statistics/index.html - [2021-09] CDC's Wyoming MMWR counted 18 pneumonic cases nationwide in 1942–2018. That is about one every four years, and a ~2.5-week window is roughly 5% of a year. Adding Wyoming 2021 and Arizona 2025 keeps the rate in the same range. https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/wr/mm7124a5.htm - [2024-04 CDC Yellow Book] No plague cases had been reported among travelers returning to the US in more than 40 years. That makes an import mechanism historically near-zero. https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/yellowbook/2024/infections-diseases/plague - [1996-01] Precedent for an international plague scare: during the 1994 India outbreak, CDC ran airport and passive surveillance for a month. It identified 13 suspected persons and confirmed none. Screening scares have a record of producing zero confirmed cases. https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/eid/article/2/1/96-0103_article - [2026-10-12] Irkutsk: the independent tracker reports 197 contacts, 0 plague-positive and all released. It says Russia told WHO on Oct 6 that no plague was recorded in the patient "or in anyone else". WHO said on Oct 10 that lab-associated exposure "cannot be fully excluded". Even in the worst case, the index patient died on Oct 2 and the contacts were cleared before any plausible travel to the US. Direct US-Russia flights have been suspended since 2022 (Al Jazeera, Oct 8). https://plagueintel.com/irkutsk-2026 - [2026-10-09] The plaguealert.com timeline says almost 5,000 lab tests found no dangerous pathogens. It also says the "second case" reports are denied. There is no active transmission chain to import. https://plaguealert.com/ - [2026-10-05] Provisional CDC data through week 39 show only 2 US plague cases in 2026, and neither is described as pneumonic. Plague peaks May–October in the Southwest, so late October is a seasonal decline. https://plagueintel.com/countries/united-states - [2026-10-01] The MMWR on the July 2025 Coconino case was retrospective. It was published and "reported" before the window, and the 2025 case cannot be a new first confirmation. A strict resolver would also not count further retrospective reports of earlier cases, because the first official confirmation must fall in the window. https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/wr/mm7124a5.htm - [2014 precedent] Colorado's 2014 pneumonic cluster came from a dog, and the secondary cases were only "possible" human-to-human transmission. Domestic pneumonic cases come from animals and often have a delayed diagnosis. That means even a case with onset in October could be confirmed after Nov 1. https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/mm6416a1.htm - [2026-10-14] The Madagascar cluster has no US link. The CDC Yellow Book above shows no returning-traveler cases in over 40 years. Resolution also needs a Source Agency announcement, and sparse state releases often omit the form. A bubonic or "unspecified" case would not count. https://www.thestar.com.my/news/world/2026/10/14/madagascar-reports-4-confirmed-plague-cases BOTTOM LINE: Every route to Yes (a rare domestic animal-linked case, an import, or a Russian spillover) has a very low base rate, and the Russian event has no confirmed plague and no US-bound cases. The status quo, with no case so far in 2026, a seasonal decline, and strict "form-specified and first confirmed in window" criteria, all favor NO. NOT FOUND: Any US suspected pneumonic case in October 2026. The form of the 2026 AZ and NM cases. A year-by-year US pneumonic count. Any scheduled event before Nov 1 that would change the outcome. The CDC 2026 provisional table by form.
3. Forecasters 2 draws · Opus 5.5 + GPT · plain mean
claude-opus-5-5 · high effort
72% conf
Yes 3%
No 97%
(0) No source shows a qualifying case. The CDC statistics page (updated Oct 7) lists none for 2026, provisional data show only two 2026 US cases (AZ in April, NM in June), and neither is described as pneumonic. The 'Pueblo case' turned out to be a stale 2024 article. (a) About 16 days remain until the Nov 1, 2026 ET deadline. (b) The status quo is No: no suspected US pneumonic case is reported. (c) No: the Russian event stays unconfirmed with contacts cleared, and no domestic case is confirmed with its form specified before Nov 1. (d) Yes: a sporadic cat- or rodent-linked primary pneumonic case in the Southwest, or a symptomatic traveler, is confirmed and announced as pneumonic by CDC or a state agency within the window. On base rates, CDC counted 18 pneumonic cases in 1942–2018 plus cases in 2021 and 2025, about 0.25–0.3 a year. That implies roughly 1–1.5% for a 16-day window, falling to well under that given late-season decline, diagnostic lag and the need for the form to be stated. On imports, there have been no plague cases in returning US travelers in more than 40 years. Russia reports negative tests for the patient and 197 contacts, direct flights are suspended, and only about 4 people a week travel from Siberia to the US. The Kalshi price of 9% (bid 7/ask 8, last close 4%) looks inflated by the Russia headlines that have since faded, so I price below it at about 3%, keeping a margin for case-reporting surprises and resolution ambiguity.
claude-opus-5-5 · high effort
72% conf
Yes 3%
No 97%
(0) No source shows the condition met. The CDC statistics page, updated Oct 7, lists no 2026 pneumonic case. Provisional 2026 data show only two US plague cases (Arizona in April, New Mexico in June), neither reported as pneumonic and both before Issuance. The 'Pueblo 2026' lead was debunked as a 2024 page. (a) About 16 days remain until the Nov 1 deadline. (b) Status quo is No: there is no suspected US case pending, the Irkutsk event was ruled not plague with all 197 contacts cleared, and WHO advises no travel restrictions. (c) No path: the window passes with no domestic pneumonic case, or any plague case that does occur is bubonic or of unstated form, or a late-October case is confirmed after Nov 1. (d) Yes path: a sporadic, cat- or rodent-linked primary pneumonic case in the Southwest is confirmed and announced with its form specified before Nov 1. A symptomatic traveler from Siberia or Madagascar testing positive is much less likely, given no imported traveler case in 40+ years and no direct US-Russia flights. Base rate: roughly 18 pneumonic cases over 1942–2018, plus 2021 and 2025, is about one every 3–4 years. That gives about 1–1.5% for a 16-day window, falling slightly in the late-season decline. Kalshi trades at a 7/8 bid-ask (9% last, 4% prior close), which I think overprices residual Russia-scare fear. I settle near 3% to allow for heightened testing and resolution ambiguity.
4. Final plain mean of 2 draws
3% (72% confidence)
Yes: 3% No: 97%
Mean of 2 draws (0.03, 0.03). (0) No source shows a qualifying case. The CDC statistics page (updated Oct 7) lists none for 2026, provisional data show only two 2026 US cases (AZ in April, NM in June), and neither is described as pneumonic. The 'Pueblo case' turned out to be a stale 2024 article. (a) About 16 days remain until the Nov 1, 2026 ET deadline. (b) The status quo is No: no suspected US pneumonic case is reported. (c) No: the Russian event stays unconfirmed with contacts cleared, and no domestic case is confirmed with its form specified before Nov 1. (d) Yes: a sporadic cat- or rodent-linked primary pneumonic case in the Southwest, or a symptomatic traveler, is confirmed and announced as pneumonic by CDC or a state agency within the window. On base rates, CDC counted 18 pneumonic cases in 1942–2018 plus cases in 2021 and 2025, about 0.25–0.3 a year. That implies roughly 1–1.5% for a 16-day window, falling to well under that given late-season decline, diagnostic lag and the need for the form to be stated. On imports, there have been no plague cases in returning US travelers in more than 40 years. Russia reports negative tests for the patient and 197 contacts, direct flights are suspended, and only about 4 people a week travel from Siberia to the US. The Kalshi price of 9% (bid 7/ask 8, last close 4%) looks inflated by the Russia headlines that have since faded, so I price below it at about 3%, keeping a margin for case-reporting surprises and resolution ambiguity.
Pipeline Timing
Total pipeline time: 153.9s
Per-tool research timings shown in the Research section above.