forecasting
agent
← back to scans

Will a human case of Ebola disease in Republic of the Congo be reported before Jan 1, 2027?

kalshiScience and Technology·2026-09-27·view on kalshi ↗
17%
Agent
19%
Market Price
-1.8%
Edge
61%
Confidence
85,751
Volume
1.0c
Spread
95
Days to resolution
16
Markets in event
final rationale
Mean of 5 draws (0.16, 0.15, 0.17, 0.20, 0.18). (0) Not yet resolved. WHO DON, ECDC (24–25 Sep), CDC and a 21 Sep Brazzaville statement all show no confirmed Ebola case inside Republic of the Congo. The resolution-source fetch returned nothing usable, so these other sources carry the status-quo read. (a) About three months remain until the Jan 1, 2027 deadline. (b) If nothing changes, this resolves No: RoC has had zero detections despite more than four months of screening at Brazzaville's port and airport. The epidemic's growth is concentrated in the eastern provinces, and Kinshasa, the high-traffic corridor, is not reported affected. (c) NO scenario: the Sud-Ubangi cluster, which ECDC puts at two cases and one death in one health zone, stays small or gets contained. The Bulu spread points toward the CAR border rather than RoC's sparsely populated Likouala side, and no case reaches Kinshasa before year-end. (d) YES scenario: transmission in Sud-Ubangi grows along the Ubangi river, or an infected traveller reaches Kinshasa and crosses to Brazzaville. Contact tracing is failing badly (about 30k of an estimated 420k contacts followed), and the epidemic is still adding about 70 confirmed cases a day, so a confirmed imported case could be diagnosed in RoC. The Kalshi anchor is 19%, up 10 points in a week on the Sud-Ubangi news. Related Polymarket markets price Rwanda at 18.5% and Burundi at 37.5% for similar border risk, which is context only. I shade slightly below the market because the border-province cluster looks small and stalled. RoC-facing flows from Sud-Ubangi are low-volume. Uganda showed a neighbour can contain spillover.
price vs. prediction
market price agent forecast at t+0
21 follow-ups
1. Planner Opus 5.5 · picks the research tools
Tools chosen: kalshi_direct resolution_source kalshi_related polymarket_related wikipedia gdelt_news
Planner reasoning
The Kalshi price is the anchor, and the resolution source should be WHO Disease Outbreak News or the ministry reports on Ebola. The sibling markets in the KXEBOLACOUNTRY series and any Polymarket Ebola markets give cross-venue signals, such as whether there is an active outbreak in neighboring DRC. Wikipedia's list of Ebola outbreaks supplies the historical base rate for the Republic of the Congo.
2. Research parallel tool calls + 4 web research loops (Sonnet 5) · read raw by the forecasters
at a glance
RESEARCH DIGEST (built in code: tool summaries and each report's bottom line; the forecasters read the full tool outputs and reports) Tools - kalshi_direct: ## This Market's Kalshi Data **Republic of the Congo** (KXEBOLACOUNTRY-27-DOC) - Current price (probability): 19.00% (live; bid 18% / ask 19%) - Last daily close (2026-09-27): 18.00% - 7-day price change: +10.00% - 30-day price change: -7.00% - Average daily volume: 209 contracts - Price range: 7.00% - 28.00% - Data points: 63 days - resolution_source: already_resolved=unclear; matches_criteria=True; last_updated=unknown (footer shows ©2026 WHO). The fetched page is the WHO Disease Outbreak News listing page with a year filter, but no actual DON entries or country-specific case data were returned ('Unfortunately we don't have any results matching your criteria'), so no information about an Ebola case in Republic of the Congo is visible. - kalshi_related: 0 related markets / summaries. series KXEBOLACOUNTRY: 0 markets (skipped 32 no-signal) | keyword 'ebola': no matches - polymarket_related: Polymarket search over 1 keyword(s), kept 5 matches. keyword 'ebola': 5 markets - wikipedia: Fetched 2 Wikipedia entries (0 missing pages). - gdelt_news: GDELT: 20 articles across 2 queries (lookback=60d). 'Ebola Republic of the Congo Brazzaville case': 10 hits | 'Ebola outbreak DRC 2026': 10 hits Research loops, bottom lines - current state: As of September 27, 2026, the large and still-active Bundibugyo virus Ebola outbreak remains confined to DRC (and a small Uganda cluster, now declared over), with WHO/ECDC data showing no confirmed cases in Republic of the Congo; however, the outbreak has now reached South-Ubangi province, which directly borders Republic of Congo, and WHO has explicitly rated importation risk into Republic of Congo as "high," making a spillover case plausible before January 2027 but not yet realized. - base rate: Republic of Congo's own historical base rate for confirmed domestic Ebola cases is low-frequency but nonzero (two Zaire-ebolavirus outbreaks in 2003, an Ebola-like cluster in 2005, none confirmed since), and despite an ongoing, unprecedented Bundibugyo-virus epidemic in neighboring DRC that WHO rates as posing "high" importation risk to RoC via the Brazzaville–Kinshasa corridor, no confirmed case inside RoC has been reported through nearly 4.5 months of that epidemic, suggesting the base rate fa - yes case: The single most likely path to YES is spillover from the newly-confirmed, actively-transmitting Sud-Ubangi cluster (Bulu health zone) — the first DRC health zone with confirmed local Ebola transmission directly on Congo-Brazzaville's border — combined with documented contact-tracing failures (only ~30,000 of an estimated 420,000 needed contacts followed) and a demonstrated pattern of infected individuals traveling across multiple international borders undetected before diagnosis; this mechanism, - no case: The single confirmed link to a province bordering Congo-Brazzaville (Sud-Ubangi) remains a contained, two-case, travel-linked cluster with quarantined contacts and no confirmed local transmission even within that DRC province, while Congo-Brazzaville has maintained active screening for over four months with zero detections; historical precedent (Uganda's successful 42-day-rule closure) and ECDC's own low-importation-probability modelling both favor continued non-occurrence through year-end.
tools
toolstatustimeitemssummary
kalshi_direct OK 0.2s 1 ## This Market's Kalshi Data **Republic of the Congo** (KXEBOLACOUNTRY-27-DOC) - Current price (probability): 19.00% (live; bid 18% / ask 19%) - Last daily close (2026-09-27): 18.00% - 7-day price change: +10.00% - 30-day price change: -7.00% - Average daily volume: 209 contracts - Price range: 7.0
resolution_source OK 3.8s 1 already_resolved=unclear; matches_criteria=True; last_updated=unknown (footer shows ©2026 WHO). The fetched page is the WHO Disease Outbreak News listing page with a year filter, but no actual DON entries or country-specific case data were returned ('Unfortunately we don't have any results matching
kalshi_related OK 0.6s 0 0 related markets / summaries. series KXEBOLACOUNTRY: 0 markets (skipped 32 no-signal) | keyword 'ebola': no matches
polymarket_related OK 0.4s 5 Polymarket search over 1 keyword(s), kept 5 matches. keyword 'ebola': 5 markets
wikipedia OK 0.3s 2 Fetched 2 Wikipedia entries (0 missing pages).
gdelt_news OK 59.7s 20 GDELT: 20 articles across 2 queries (lookback=60d). 'Ebola Republic of the Congo Brazzaville case': 10 hits | 'Ebola outbreak DRC 2026': 10 hits
research loops · 4/4 ok · 19 searches · 6 page reads
dimensionstatustimesearchespage readsreport
current state OK 36s 5 2 5448 chars
base rate OK 35s 5 1 5241 chars
yes case OK 45s 5 1 6205 chars
no case OK 48s 4 2 6358 chars
report: current state
- [2026-05-15] The Ministry of Public Health of the Democratic Republic of the Congo confirmed the outbreak of Ebola disease (Bundibugyo virus) in Ituri Province, DRC — this is a separate country from Republic of the Congo (Congo-Brazzaville). On May 15, 2026, the Ministry of Health of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) confirmed an outbreak of Ebola disease in Ituri Province in northeastern DRC. https://www.cdc.gov/han/php/notices/han00530.html - [2026-05-17] WHO declared the DRC/Uganda Bundibugyo virus outbreak a Public Health Emergency of International Concern; the outbreak was declared a public health emergency of international concern (PHEIC) by the World Health Organization (WHO) on 16 May 2026 . https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2026_Ebola_epidemic - [2026-07-01] WHO/Republic of Congo authorities described importation risk into Republic of Congo as high due to cross-border traffic with Kinshasa, and stood up screening at Brazzaville Beach port and Maya-Maya Airport, isolation wards, and an ambulance — but no case had been reported in the country. In this context, "the World Health Organization (WHO) considers the risk of Ebola importation into the Republic of the Congo high, due to strong cross-border mobility and the immediate proximity of the two capitals." https://www.afro.who.int/countries/congo/news/republic-congo-strengthens-ebola-preparedness-points-entry - [2026-09-07] WHO reported the DRC outbreak had reached 6,757 confirmed cases and 3,267 deaths across six provinces (Bas-Uélé, Haut-Uélé, Ituri, North Kivu, South Kivu, Tshopo) — none in provinces bordering Republic of Congo yet. https://www.who.int/emergencies/disease-outbreak-news/item/2026-DON617 - [2026-09-11] A confirmed Ebola case was reported in South-Ubangi province, DRC's seventh affected province, which directly borders both the Central African Republic and Congo-Brazzaville (Republic of Congo); the acting governor of South-Ubangi said Ebola was detected following laboratory analysis of a suspected case, though local transmission has not yet been confirmed in South-Ubangi, meaning it has not been added to the list of provinces officially affected by the epidemic. https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/9/11/ebola-case-detected-in-seventh-dr-congo-province - [2026-09-18] Wikipedia's tracker lists the DRC outbreak as having reached 62 health zones across seven provinces including 1 of 16 health zones in Sud-Ubangi, the province adjacent to Republic of Congo. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2026_Ebola_epidemic - [2026-09-23] CDC's situation summary states that, regarding the DRC/Uganda outbreak generally, to date, no cases of Ebola disease have been confirmed in the United States because of this outbreak, and the overall risk to the American public and travelers remains low — no mention of any Republic of Congo case. https://www.cdc.gov/ebola/situation-summary/index.html - [2026-09-24] ECDC's latest epidemiological update: on 24 September 2026, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) reported a total of 7,890 confirmed cases, including 3,799 related deaths, with 893 patients hospitalised in isolation — all cases remain attributed to DRC and Uganda; Republic of Congo is not listed among affected countries. https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/ebola-outbreak-democratic-republic-congo-and-uganda - [2026-09-24] The only countries with confirmed cases in the current outbreak dataset remain DRC (7,890), Uganda (20), plus two cases medevaced to Germany and one to France; 3605 in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (including two cases diagnosed in the Democratic Republic of the Congo and subsequently treated in Germany), 20 in Uganda and one in France — no Republic of Congo cases recorded in any WHO/ECDC tally to date. https://www.who.int/emergencies/disease-outbreak-news/item/2026-DON614 - [2025-10-14] Historical context: Republic of Congo had already built Ebola preparedness capacity a year earlier in response to a prior DRC outbreak (Kasai Province), showing an established pattern of proactive screening without any actual case ever crossing the border. https://www.afro.who.int/countries/congo/news/republic-congo-reinforces-measures-curb-potential-ebola-outbreak - [2026-09-27 (today)] No official source (WHO, ECDC, CDC, AFRO, MSF, Wikipedia trackers) reports any confirmed human Ebola case within Republic of the Congo as of this writing; the epidemic remains confined to DRC and Uganda, with imported cases only in Germany and France (health-worker medevacs) — none domestically confirmed in Congo-Brazzaville. NOT FOUND: No official report, press release, or news article confirming an actual Ebola case (suspected, probable or confirmed) inside Republic of the Congo's territory itself; no Republic of Congo Ministry of Health statement announcing a case; no updated (post-July) WHO AFRO Congo-specific preparedness bulletin beyond the July 1 report was found despite searching. BOTTOM LINE: As of September 27, 2026, the large and still-active Bundibugyo virus Ebola outbreak remains confined to DRC (and a small Uganda cluster, now declared over), with WHO/ECDC data showing no confirmed cases in Republic of the Congo; however, the outbreak has now reached South-Ubangi province, which directly borders Republic of Congo, and WHO has explicitly rated importation risk into Republic of Congo as "high," making a spillover case plausible before January 2027 but not yet realized.
report: base rate
- [2005-05-16] Historical base rate: outbreaks of Ebola/Ebola-like disease have been confirmed in Republic of Congo (Congo-Brazzaville) multiple times, e.g. a 2005 event where nine people have died in the Republic of Congo from a hemorrhagic disease that authorities are describing as "Ebola-like" , following prior outbreaks noted by AFP: the Congo Republic and neighboring Gabon have had several Ebola outbreaks, which have killed about 360 people since 1994 . (cidrap.umn.edu) - [2003-02-18] The largest confirmed Republic of Congo outbreak: as of 18 February 2003, a total of 73 suspected cases and 59 deaths from Ebola haemorrhagic fever had been reported in the districts of Mbomo and Kellé in Cuvette Ouest Region, and the Government of the Republic of the Congo officially declared the epidemic as due to Ebola haemorrhagic fever , eventually reaching a total of 143 cases in the Mbomo and Kéllé health districts including 129 fatalities, with thirteen cases laboratory confirmed . (who.int, pubmed) - [2003-11-21] A separate flare-up later that year: as of 21 November 2003 the Ministry of Health of the Republic of the Congo reported a total of 24 cases, including 12 deaths, of Ebola haemorrhagic fever in Mbomo and Mbandza villages , showing the country can have recurring confirmed clusters within the same year. (who.int) - [2024-05-06] CDC's outbreak history notes this was the first time EVD was reported in the Republic of the Congo, an outbreak that occurred over the border of Gabon and the Republic of the Congo, with affected areas in Mbomo and Kéllé districts in Cuvette Ouest Département , indicating RoC's confirmed-case history is tied to the Zaire ebolavirus species and largely predates 2005 (no confirmed RoC cases in the CDC record since then). (stacks.cdc.gov) - [2026-05-15] Context/reference class shift: the current regional emergency is DRC's 17th outbreak, the country's 17th Ebola outbreak since the virus was first identified in 1976, and the WHO Director-General determined it constitutes a Public Health Emergency of International Concern, declared on 15 May 2026 — this is a DRC outbreak, not an RoC one, but raises importation risk into RoC. (afro.who.int) - [2026-09-24] Outbreak scale as of late September: on 24 September 2026 DRC reported a total of 7,890 confirmed cases, including 3,799 related deaths, with 893 patients hospitalised in isolation — still confined to DRC provinces bordering Uganda, CAR and RoC. (ecdc.europa.eu) - [2026-09-11] Cross-border proximity precedent: a case was found in the northwestern province of South-Ubangi bordering the Central African Republic and Congo-Brazzaville, after the acting governor issued a statement saying Ebola was detected following laboratory analysis of a suspected case — demonstrating the outbreak has already reached provinces directly adjacent to RoC without (per available reporting) crossing into RoC territory. (aljazeera.com) - [2026-07-01] WHO's own risk assessment for RoC: the World Health Organization (WHO) considers the risk of Ebola importation into the Republic of the Congo high, due to strong cross-border mobility and the immediate proximity of the two capitals , prompting screening at Brazzaville Beach and Maya-Maya airport and isolation-capacity build-up at Brazzaville University Hospital and the military hospital (per the same article). This shows expert assessment treats importation as a live, elevated risk rather than remote. (afro.who.int) - [2026-06-25] Outside academic modelling (Lancet Infectious Diseases stochastic model) explicitly named RoC among "countries with elevated risk of importation" from the Ituri epidemic and used WHO Brazzaville regional office data; the study's abstract only reports confirmed importation into Uganda (seven cases) as of its analysis window, not RoC. (thelancet.com, pubmed) - [2026-09-27] No news, WHO Disease Outbreak News, ECDC, or CDC situation report reviewed reports any confirmed Ebola case inside Republic of Congo territory during the current 2026 epidemic; all confirmed spillover so far is limited to DRC and Uganda, with one internationally evacuated case to Germany and earlier ones to Kinshasa/Kampala. (who.int, ecdc.europa.eu, cdc.gov) BOTTOM LINE: Republic of Congo's own historical base rate for confirmed domestic Ebola cases is low-frequency but nonzero (two Zaire-ebolavirus outbreaks in 2003, an Ebola-like cluster in 2005, none confirmed since), and despite an ongoing, unprecedented Bundibugyo-virus epidemic in neighboring DRC that WHO rates as posing "high" importation risk to RoC via the Brazzaville–Kinshasa corridor, no confirmed case inside RoC has been reported through nearly 4.5 months of that epidemic, suggesting the base rate favors continued non-occurrence absent a specific new trigger. NOT FOUND: Any explicit numerical estimate/forecast (e.g., percentage probability) from WHO, Africa CDC, or academic modelers specifically for RoC (as opposed to Uganda, CAR, South Sudan) importation; any betting-market or prediction-market history for this specific question; and any RoC Ministry of Health situation reports (not found in English-language sources) that might show near-miss suspected cases screened at the border.
report: yes case
- [2026-09-25] The DRC outbreak's spread into Sud-Ubangi is no longer just an imported/suspected case: WHO confirmed the Ebola virus caused by the Bundibugyo strain has spread to two new health zones, with new cases found in Bulu in South Ubangi governorate on the border with the Central African Republic, bringing the number of health zones affected to 63 across seven provinces — meaning Sud-Ubangi is now an officially affected province with active transmission, not merely a single imported case as of the Sept 11 report. https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/9/25/dr-congos-ebola-outbreak-spreads-to-two-new-health-zones-who-says - [2026-09-25] Contact tracing is failing at scale even as the outbreak nears Congo-Brazzaville's border: Africa CDC director-general Jean Kaseya said the more than 7,000 confirmed cases should translate to about 420,000 contacts, "but currently, we have just 30,000 people in the contact list," indicating containment gaps that raise the chance of undetected chains reaching the RoC border region. https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/9/25/dr-congos-ebola-outbreak-spreads-to-two-new-health-zones-who-says - [2026-09-25] WHO's Tedros publicly acknowledged the epidemic is not under control in a way that would reassure neighboring countries: he said conflict and population displacement were making it more difficult for health workers to reach affected communities and trace people who may have been exposed to the virus , a mechanism that plausibly enables cross-border leakage toward Congo-Brazzaville via Sud-Ubangi. https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/9/25/dr-congos-ebola-outbreak-spreads-to-two-new-health-zones-who-says - [2026-09-11] The province-level jump itself was driven by a highly mobile index case: DRC officials said the patient was a 23-year-old man who, in just three weeks, had departed from South Kivu province — where confirmed Ebola cases have been reported — and then traveled to Rwanda and Uganda before dying in Sud-Ubangi, demonstrating that infected individuals are already crossing multiple international borders undetected during the incubation/early-symptom period, a mechanism directly transferable to a Kinshasa–Brazzaville crossing. https://www.nbcnews.com/world/africa/ebola-outbreak-congo-spreads-7th-province-rcna597318 - [2026-09-16] Independent of the Sud-Ubangi flashpoint, WHO has separately flagged the broader westward corridor: mapping analysis based on ECDC data notes Sud-Ubangi borders the Central African Republic and the Republic of the Congo, and the WHO has warned the outbreak could spread from DR Congo into the Central African Republic and South Sudan , an explicit WHO statement (not merely journalistic inference) naming spread risk in the exact border region adjacent to RoC. https://www.mappr.co/ebola-outbreaks-by-country/ - [2026-09-21] A Brazzaville-based professional association's public statement (6 days before this report) confirms the country's own risk framing is unchanged and still elevated but unrealized: it states Brazzaville n'est pas touchée; la République du Congo demeure, à ce jour, indemne de maladie à virus Ebola , while separately affirming reinforced surveillance "notamment aux frontières" — the local narrative treats a case as a live possibility being actively guarded against, not a remote hypothetical. https://www.cib-avocats.org/bienvenue-au-congo/ - [2026-09-24] The outbreak has not plateaued nationally: ECDC's newest count shows on 24 September 2026, DRC reported a total of 7,890 confirmed cases, including 3,799 related deaths, with 893 patients hospitalised in isolation — an increase of 70 new confirmed cases and 20 deaths since the previous day , meaning the epidemiological "denominator" of possible exporters keeps growing daily as the outbreak reaches the Sud-Ubangi corridor. https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/ebola-outbreak-democratic-republic-congo-and-uganda - [2018-05-14] Historical mechanism precedent: in a prior DRC Ebola outbreak, WHO explicitly warned that "the proximity of the affected area to the Congo River, which links to the Republic of the Congo and the Central African Republic, increases the risk of cases occurring in neighboring countries" — the same river-and-market corridor now connecting Kinshasa to Brazzaville is the transmission route WHO is actively screening against in 2026, showing this is a recurring, structurally-grounded (not one-off) risk pathway. https://www.cidrap.umn.edu/ebola/new-ebola-cases-reported-who-head-visits-drc - [2003-03-10] RoC's own outbreak history shows how quickly a single confirmed lab case can escalate domestically once introduced: in the 2003 outbreak, cases rose from a handful of lab-confirmed samples to 115 probable cases with the death toll rising to 97, plus six laboratory-confirmed cases within about three weeks of first detection — illustrating that if the virus does cross into RoC via the Brazzaville corridor, official confirmation (satisfying this market's resolution criterion) could plausibly follow quickly once a suspected case is lab-tested. https://afro.who.int/news/ebola-cases-congo-reach-115 BOTTOM LINE: The single most likely path to YES is spillover from the newly-confirmed, actively-transmitting Sud-Ubangi cluster (Bulu health zone) — the first DRC health zone with confirmed local Ebola transmission directly on Congo-Brazzaville's border — combined with documented contact-tracing failures (only ~30,000 of an estimated 420,000 needed contacts followed) and a demonstrated pattern of infected individuals traveling across multiple international borders undetected before diagnosis; this mechanism, not the long-static Kinshasa-Brazzaville river corridor alone, is the newest and most concrete channel that could produce an officially confirmed RoC case before January 2027. NOT FOUND: No RoC Ministry of Health statement (in English or French) reporting any suspected or confirmed case inside its territory as of the most recent search (Sept 21-25, 2026); no WHO Disease Outbreak News specific to Republic of Congo; no updated numerical risk probability for RoC importation from WHO, Africa CDC, or academic modelers since the June 25 Lancet ID study.
report: no case
- [2026-09-25] ECDC's most recent update (last updated 25 September) reports the Sud-Ubangi cluster remains tiny and locally isolated: "In Sud Ubangi, two cases and one death have been reported from one of 16 health zones" , out of 167 health zones total nationally — a single-digit, single-health-zone case count with no indication of exponential local spread two weeks after detection. - [2026-09-11] AP's original reporting on the Sud-Ubangi index case shows it was a travel-linked death, not autochthonous transmission from a neighboring affected province: "Sud-Ubangi, which borders the Central African Republic, does not border any of the six provinces in eastern Congo where confirmed Ebola cases had previously been reported. They include Ituri, North Kivu, South Kivu, Haut-Uele, Tshopo and Bas-Uele." The patient "had departed from South Kivu province... and then traveled to Rwanda and Uganda. He then traveled to Congo's Ituri province... He then traveled from the northeast of the country to the northwest through the provinces of Tshopo, Mongala and Sud-Ubangi" — an unusual, long single-traveler chain rather than a contiguous wave of spread toward the Congo-Brazzaville border. - [2026-09-11] Local containment was activated immediately: contact tracing identified "38 people who had contact with the patient, placing them into quarantine" , and as of the Al Jazeera report on the same event "Local transmission has not yet been confirmed in South-Ubangi, meaning it has not been added to the list of provinces officially affected by the epidemic" — DRC authorities themselves have not certified onward local transmission even in the border province itself, let alone across into Congo-Brazzaville. - [2026-05-22] Republic of Congo's own government statement at the outbreak's outset explicitly downplayed proximate risk, noting the epicenter was roughly 3,000 km away and stating N'ayant enregistré aucun cas à ce jour, le gouvernement ne recommande aucune restriction, i.e., "the epidemic declared in northeastern DRC, about 3,000 km from Brazzaville, does not yet affect Kinshasa and at this stage poses no threat to the country." Congo's early posture was screening/vigilance, not emergency alarm. - [2026-05-22] Congo-Brazzaville's border-health response has been proactive and multi-layered since May, with "intensification of health checks at land, river and air points of entry, in line with WHO recommendations... through strengthened epidemiological surveillance in health facilities, in communities and at points of entry" — a system already in place for over four months without a single confirmed detection. - [2026-09-24] Independent modelling (ECDC) of importation risk from this outbreak — while focused on the EU/EEA — concludes that even in a "pessimistic scenario" further sporadic spread outward from the core outbreak zone remains a low-probability, not high-probability, event: "According to ECDC modelling calculations, the risk of importation into the EU/EEA from the outbreak area remains very low. While sporadic importations cannot be excluded, the probability of multiple independent importations is very low" . Analogous logic (lower population flow than the DRC-Uganda or DRC-Kinshasa corridors) applies with even more force to the much lower-volume, less-developed Sud-Ubangi–Congo-Brazzaville crossing versus the high-traffic Kinshasa-Brazzaville axis WHO has flagged. - [2026-09-23/25] The broader outbreak trajectory as of the most current data (ECDC 24 Sept, 7,890 cases) shows new case growth concentrated overwhelmingly in the original eastern hotspots — "The 70 new cases have been reported from Ituri (31 cases), North Kivu (31 cases), Haut-Uélé (six cases), Bas-Uélé (one case) and Tshopo (one case)" — zero new cases in Sud-Ubangi in the latest 24-hour reporting window, suggesting the western/border-adjacent front has stalled rather than accelerated. - [2026-08-25] Uganda's outbreak, the only other confirmed international spillover of this Bundibugyo strain besides isolated medevacs to Germany/France, was successfully contained and formally declared over: "Uganda has officially reported that the Ebola outbreak (caused by the Bundibugyo virus) is over." This is a precedent for successful border-country containment despite direct land contact with the epicenter, unlike Congo-Brazzaville's much more distant secondary exposure via Sud-Ubangi. - [2026-09-27] Historically, despite the current epidemic's unprecedented scale (over 7,800 cases, larger and deadlier than any prior DRC outbreak) and nearly 4.5 months of "high" WHO-rated importation risk, no independent, non-DRC-affiliated confirmed case has emerged anywhere in the entire outbreak outside DRC itself and the small, now-closed Uganda cluster — importation has consistently required either direct overland travel within DRC (Uganda cases were largely DRC travel-linked per "14 individuals became infected during travel in the DRC; the remaining 5 cases involve local transmission" language from an earlier report) or medical evacuation of already-diagnosed patients, not organic cross-border spread into a new, previously unaffected sovereign state via community transmission. - [2026-09-27] No RoC Ministry of Health statement, WHO AFRO Congo-specific bulletin, or international tracker (ECDC, CDC, WHO DON, Wikipedia) found post-July that documents any suspected, probable, or confirmed case physically inside Republic of the Congo, despite months of intensive screening infrastructure operating at Brazzaville's main port and airport. BOTTOM LINE: The single confirmed link to a province bordering Congo-Brazzaville (Sud-Ubangi) remains a contained, two-case, travel-linked cluster with quarantined contacts and no confirmed local transmission even within that DRC province, while Congo-Brazzaville has maintained active screening for over four months with zero detections; historical precedent (Uganda's successful 42-day-rule closure) and ECDC's own low-importation-probability modelling both favor continued non-occurrence through year-end. NOT FOUND: Any RoC government (Ministry of Health of Republic of Congo) statement post-July 2026; any evidence of a second Sud-Ubangi case count increase since 24 September; any confirmed suspected-case testing event physically on Congo-Brazzaville soil.
3. Forecasters 5 draws · Opus 5.5 + GPT-5.6 Sol · plain mean
claude-opus-5-5
55% conf
Yes 16%
No 84%
(0) Not yet resolved. WHO DON, ECDC (24–25 Sep), CDC and a 21 Sep Brazzaville statement all show no confirmed Ebola case inside Republic of the Congo. The resolution-source fetch returned nothing usable, so these other sources carry the status-quo read. (a) About three months remain until the Jan 1, 2027 deadline. (b) If nothing changes, this resolves No: RoC has had zero detections despite more than four months of screening at Brazzaville's port and airport. The epidemic's growth is concentrated in the eastern provinces, and Kinshasa, the high-traffic corridor, is not reported affected. (c) NO scenario: the Sud-Ubangi cluster, which ECDC puts at two cases and one death in one health zone, stays small or gets contained. The Bulu spread points toward the CAR border rather than RoC's sparsely populated Likouala side, and no case reaches Kinshasa before year-end. (d) YES scenario: transmission in Sud-Ubangi grows along the Ubangi river, or an infected traveller reaches Kinshasa and crosses to Brazzaville. Contact tracing is failing badly (about 30k of an estimated 420k contacts followed), and the epidemic is still adding about 70 confirmed cases a day, so a confirmed imported case could be diagnosed in RoC. The Kalshi anchor is 19%, up 10 points in a week on the Sud-Ubangi news. Related Polymarket markets price Rwanda at 18.5% and Burundi at 37.5% for similar border risk, which is context only. I shade slightly below the market because the border-province cluster looks small and stalled. RoC-facing flows from Sud-Ubangi are low-volume. Uganda showed a neighbour can contain spillover.
claude-opus-5-5
55% conf
Yes 15%
No 85%
(0) Not met yet. WHO, ECDC (24–25 Sept), CDC and a Brazzaville statement dated 21 Sept all show no confirmed case in Republic of the Congo. The resolution-source fetch returned nothing usable. (a) About three months remain until Jan 1, 2027. (b) Status quo is No: after 4.5 months of a record Bundibugyo outbreak (7,890 confirmed cases), the only non-DRC cases are the closed Uganda cluster and medevacs to Germany and France. (c) No scenario: the Sud-Ubangi foothold stays tiny (2 cases, one health zone, northern CAR-facing Bulu area), Kinshasa stays unaffected, and RoC's screening at the port and airport holds through year-end. (d) Yes scenario: the outbreak keeps growing uncontrolled, with contact tracing covering only ~30k of ~420k needed contacts. A mobile traveler, like the index case who crossed several borders, then carries infection down the Ubangi/Congo river corridor or into Kinshasa and across to Brazzaville, where it is lab-confirmed. The Kalshi anchor is 19%, up 10 points in a week on the Sud-Ubangi news. Related Polymarket prices suggest RoC should price below Rwanda (18.5%), Burundi (37.5%) and South Sudan (48.5%), since those sit much closer to the epicenter. That, plus the stalled Sud-Ubangi case count, leads me to shade slightly below the market.
claude-opus-5-5
55% conf
Yes 17%
No 83%
(0) The condition is not met yet. WHO, ECDC (24–25 Sept), CDC and local Brazzaville statements (21 Sept) all show no confirmed Ebola case in the Republic of the Congo. The resolution-source fetch returned nothing usable, so I rely on these trackers. A YES needs a lab-confirmed case diagnosed on RoC soil and officially reported before Jan 1, 2027. (a) About 3 months remain. (b) Status quo is No. After 4.5 months of an unprecedented Bundibugyo epidemic (about 7,900 cases) and active screening at Brazzaville's port and airport, there have been zero detections in RoC. The only international spread beyond medevacs was Uganda, which is now declared over. (c) NO scenario: the Sud-Ubangi foothold stays tiny (2 cases in one health zone, plus new cases in Bulu near the CAR border, not the RoC border). The outbreak stays concentrated in the east, Kinshasa is never seeded, and 2026 ends without a case in RoC. (d) YES scenario: contact tracing keeps failing (Africa CDC says roughly 30,000 of about 420,000 needed contacts are being followed) and mobile infected travelers keep spreading the virus westward. That leads either to spread across the Ubangi/Congo river into Likouala, or to a case reaching Kinshasa and crossing the heavily trafficked Kinshasa–Brazzaville corridor, followed by rapid confirmation. The Kalshi anchor is 19%, up 10 points in a week on the Sud-Ubangi news. I find no unpriced information that justifies a large move. The latest 24-hour data show no new Sud-Ubangi cases and no Kinshasa involvement, so I shade slightly below the market to 17%.
gpt-5.6-sol
70% conf
Yes 20%
No 80%
(0) The condition is not already met: WHO/ECDC data through September 24-25 list cases in DRC and Uganda but none confirmed inside the Republic of the Congo, while the fetched WHO resolution page is inconclusive rather than affirmative. (a) About 95 days remain for an official confirmation before January 1, 2027. (b) If nothing changes, the market resolves No because preparedness and screening do not count without a confirmed human case. (c) No results if the small, travel-linked Sud-Ubangi cluster is contained and Republic of the Congo's border surveillance continues preventing or detecting no importation through year-end. (d) Yes could result from an infected traveler crossing from DRC, especially after confirmed cases reached border-adjacent Sud-Ubangi amid major contact-tracing gaps, followed by laboratory confirmation within Republic of the Congo. I anchor near Kalshi's 19% Yes price and move only slightly upward to 20% because the September 25 evidence of continued geographic spread supports elevated risk, but the absence of any Republic of the Congo case after roughly four and a half months, two decades without a confirmed domestic outbreak, and the tiny Sud-Ubangi cluster still favor No.
gpt-5.6-sol
70% conf
Yes 18%
No 82%
(0) The condition has not already been met: WHO/ECDC data through September 24-25 list cases in DRC and Uganda but none confirmed inside the Republic of the Congo, while the generic WHO resolution-source page itself is inconclusive. (a) About 96 days remain until January 1, 2027, during which a human case must be officially confirmed within Republic of the Congo. (b) If nothing changes, the outcome is No, consistent with more than four months of screening and preparedness without a confirmed domestic case. (c) No results if the small, travel-linked Sud-Ubangi cluster is contained, border screening continues to work, and the outbreak remains concentrated in eastern DRC. (d) Yes could result from an infected traveler entering across the Sud-Ubangi border or the high-traffic Kinshasa-Brazzaville corridor and subsequently receiving laboratory confirmation in Republic of the Congo; WHO's high importation-risk assessment and major contact-tracing gaps make this credible. I anchor near Kalshi's 19% Yes price but shade to 18% because the latest ECDC evidence shows only two Sud-Ubangi cases, no recent growth there, and no confirmed Republic of Congo case despite the outbreak's exceptional scale.
4. Final plain mean of 5 draws
17% (61% confidence)
Yes: 17% No: 83%
Mean of 5 draws (0.16, 0.15, 0.17, 0.20, 0.18). (0) Not yet resolved. WHO DON, ECDC (24–25 Sep), CDC and a 21 Sep Brazzaville statement all show no confirmed Ebola case inside Republic of the Congo. The resolution-source fetch returned nothing usable, so these other sources carry the status-quo read. (a) About three months remain until the Jan 1, 2027 deadline. (b) If nothing changes, this resolves No: RoC has had zero detections despite more than four months of screening at Brazzaville's port and airport. The epidemic's growth is concentrated in the eastern provinces, and Kinshasa, the high-traffic corridor, is not reported affected. (c) NO scenario: the Sud-Ubangi cluster, which ECDC puts at two cases and one death in one health zone, stays small or gets contained. The Bulu spread points toward the CAR border rather than RoC's sparsely populated Likouala side, and no case reaches Kinshasa before year-end. (d) YES scenario: transmission in Sud-Ubangi grows along the Ubangi river, or an infected traveller reaches Kinshasa and crosses to Brazzaville. Contact tracing is failing badly (about 30k of an estimated 420k contacts followed), and the epidemic is still adding about 70 confirmed cases a day, so a confirmed imported case could be diagnosed in RoC. The Kalshi anchor is 19%, up 10 points in a week on the Sud-Ubangi news. Related Polymarket markets price Rwanda at 18.5% and Burundi at 37.5% for similar border risk, which is context only. I shade slightly below the market because the border-province cluster looks small and stalled. RoC-facing flows from Sud-Ubangi are low-volume. Uganda showed a neighbour can contain spillover.
Pipeline Timing
Total pipeline time: 107.3s
Per-tool research timings shown in the Research section above.