forecasting
agent
← back to scans

Will Emory be top 20 on U.S. News & World Report's Best National Universities Rankings in 2027?

kalshiScience and Technology·2026-09-06·view on kalshi ↗
12%
Agent
13%
Market Price
-1.0%
Edge
63%
Confidence
5,516
Volume
2.0c
Spread
482
Days to resolution
8
Markets in event
final rationale
Emory has been stuck at #24 for three consecutive editions with a stable methodology and no announced 2027 overhaul, and cohort base rates for #22-24 schools jumping into the top 20 are low (~3-7%). However, the critique correctly notes that both forecasters overstated the gap: in the 2026 edition Emory's #24 was the very next rank band after the four-way #20 tie, so a small score improvement or peer slip could place it in an expanded #20 tie, and NIH headwinds are largely shared by research peers rather than uniquely negative. The sibling-overpricing argument is only illustrative and the thin market's downward drift is weak signal, so I see little justification for shading meaningfully below the 13% anchor. I land at 12% YES — roughly at the market, slightly above the two forecasts, reflecting strong inertia but real adjacency to the cutoff band.
price vs. prediction
market price agent forecast at t+0
42 follow-ups
re-scan context
This market has been scanned before. Previous predictions:
datepredictedmarket priceconfidence
2026-08-29 10% 15% 72%
2026-08-22 7% 12% 72%
2026-05-15 10% 45% 72%
1. Planner Fable 5.1 · Fermi decomposition + tool plan
Tools chosen: kalshi_direct kalshi_related polymarket_related article_search claude_news wikipedia code_execution
Sub-questions (Fermi decomposition)
  1. Where did Emory rank in the 2024, 2025, and 2026 editions of U.S. News Best National Universities, and what was the trend?
  2. Historically, how often does a school ranked #21-#25 move into the top 20 in the following year's U.S. News edition (base rate of 3-5 spot jumps at that tier)?
  3. Has U.S. News announced or signaled methodology changes for the 2027 edition (e.g., weighting of Pell graduation, social mobility, research output, class size) that would favor or hurt Emory?
  4. How many schools are currently tied at or near #20, and does the Kalshi market count a tie at #20 as 'top 20'?
  5. Are there recent Emory-specific developments (federal research funding cuts, endowment/budget issues, enrollment, graduation rate changes, faculty resources) likely to affect its U.S. News score?
  6. What do the sibling Kalshi KXCOLLEGERANK-TOP20 markets for peer schools (WashU, Notre Dame, Georgetown, UCLA, Michigan, Carnegie Mellon, UVA) imply, and do the summed probabilities exceed the ~20 available slots?
Planner reasoning
Emory has hovered around #20-#24 in recent U.S. News editions, so this hinges on whether the 2027 edition (released ~Sept 2026) nudges it up a few spots, which depends on methodology tweaks, tie handling, and Emory's own metrics. The Kalshi price is the primary anchor, with the sibling TOP20 markets for other schools providing a consistency check (implied count of top-20 slots vs. sum of probabilities).
2. Research Parallel tool calls
toolstatustimeitemssummary
kalshi_direct OK 0.2s 1 ## This Market's Kalshi Data **Emory** (KXCOLLEGERANK-TOP20-EMO) - Current price (probability): 13.00% - 7-day price change: -2.00% - 30-day price change: -6.00% - Average daily volume: 11 contracts - Price range: 12.00% - 20.00% - Data points: 13 days
kalshi_related OK 2.6s 1 1 related markets / summaries. series KXCOLLEGERANK-TOP20: 0 markets (skipped 0 no-signal) | series KXCOLLEGERANK: 0 markets (skipped 8 no-signal) | keyword 'U.S. News ranking': ok | keyword 'Emory': no matches
polymarket_related OK 2.6s 0 Scanned 100 active Polymarket markets, kept 0 matches. keyword 'U.S. News': 0 markets | keyword 'college rankings': 0 markets | keyword 'Emory': 0 markets
article_search OK 2.9s 36 Fetched 36 unique articles across 4 queries (lookback=365d). 'Emory University U.S. News ranking 2026': 10 articles | 'U.S. News Best National Universities 2026 rankings released': 10 articles | 'U.S. News rankings methodology change 2027': 10 articles | 'Emory University budget cuts research fundin
claude_news OK 25.5s 12 ## Findings **Emory's recent U.S. News National Universities ranking history:** - Emory University was recognized as a top national university by U.S. News & World Report, coming in at No. 24 in the 2025 "Best Colleges" list. (https://news.emory.edu/stories/2024/09/us-news-names-emory-among-top-n
wikipedia OK 2.6s 2 Fetched 2 Wikipedia entries (0 missing pages).
code_execution OK 60.0s 0 ## Key Findings **Base-rate analysis (historical rank transitions, ~2015–2025 editions)** - Across the full "hover cohort" (Emory, Georgetown, CMU, Michigan, UVA, WashU, Notre Dame, NYU, USC, UCLA, UNC), there were **54 school-year observations where a school was ranked #21–25**; only **4 (7.4%)**
3. Evidence Brief Sonnet 5 · 6693 chars
# Current state Emory's U.S. News National Universities rank is determined by the annual U.S. News "Best Colleges" release (typically published each September). Emory has been flat at **#24** for three consecutive editions (2024, 2025, 2026), tied with Georgetown in the most recent (2026) edition; the 2027 edition (which this market resolves on) has not yet been published. Kalshi currently prices this at **13% YES**. # Timeline of key events - **2016**: Emory last held #20 rank (confirmed, Emory Wheel via claude_news). - **2017**: Emory fell to #21 (confirmed). - **2022**: Emory dropped to #22 (confirmed). - **2024 edition (pub. Sept 2023)**: Emory ranked #24; USNews applied a major methodology overhaul this cycle (confirmed, news.emory.edu). - **2025 edition (pub. Sept 2024)**: Emory ranked #24 again (confirmed, news.emory.edu). - **2025-03-06**: Reports Emory curbing spending/staffing ahead of anticipated NIH indirect-cost cut policy, estimated ~$140M/year impact (confirmed, GPB). - **2026 edition (pub. Sept 2025)**: Emory ranked #24 for third straight year, tied with Georgetown; top-20 tie band at #20 includes Vanderbilt, Carnegie Mellon, Michigan, Notre Dame; #17 tie includes Berkeley/Rice/UCLA — methodology "mostly unchanged" from prior year (confirmed, Emory Wheel/Yahoo/USNews). - **2025 (ongoing through 2026)**: >100 federal grants terminated at Emory over the trailing year; 20 later reinstated; Emory self-funded >$300M into research enterprise to offset losses (confirmed, WABE). - **2026-05-28**: Christopher L. Augostini named Emory's 22nd president, succeeding interim leadership after Gregory Fenves moved to chancellor (confirmed, CBS Atlanta) — leadership transition, not directly a ranking driver. - **No 2027 methodology announcement** identified as of latest research (silent in sources). # Event Will Emory rank in the top 20 of U.S. News & World Report's Best National Universities Rankings for the 2027 edition? # Outcomes to forecast - Yes (Emory top 20 in 2027 edition) - No (Emory not top 20) # Kalshi market anchor **YES price: 13%** (current). 7-day change: -2pp; 30-day change: -6pp (declining trend). Avg daily volume: 11 contracts (thin/illiquid). Price range over 13 days: 12%-20%. # Sub-question answers 1. **2024-2026 rank/trend**: Emory ranked #24 in all three editions (2024, 2025, 2026), tied with Georgetown most recently. Trend has been flat/stagnant after a longer decline from #20 (2016) [Emory Wheel, news.emory.edu]. 2. **Base rate #21-25 → top 20**: Code-execution analysis of ~54 school-year observations in the broader "hover cohort" found only 7.4% moved into top 20 next edition; narrowing to #22-24 band, only ~3% (1/33) succeeded. Emory-specific historical rate is higher (~33%, 2 of 6 years) given its closer historical proximity to the cutoff [code_execution]. 3. **2027 methodology changes**: No major methodology overhaul has been announced for 2027; the 2026 edition itself saw only modest changes versus a major 2024 overhaul [Yahoo/claude_news]. Silent on any forthcoming 2027-specific changes. 4. **Schools near #20 / ties**: In 2026 edition, four schools (Vanderbilt, CMU, Michigan, Notre Dame) tie at #20; Berkeley/Rice/UCLA tie at #17. Emory sits 4 full positions below the cutoff at #24. Kalshi's tie-handling convention for #20 is not specified in rules (unknown). 5. **Emory-specific headwinds**: Federal NIH funding cuts (~$140M/year estimated impact), >100 grants terminated (20 reinstated), spending/hiring freezes, and $300M+ in internal reserve spending to offset losses — all could pressure "financial resources per student" and research-output metrics, though peer schools face similar federal pressure [GPB, WABE]. 6. **Sibling market signals**: No live sibling market data was retrievable (Kalshi search returned no KXCOLLEGERANK-TOP20 matches); code_execution's illustrative modeling shows that if sibling schools' probabilities are set naively, the sum vastly exceeds the ~4 realistically contested top-20 seats (implying ~1.5x overpricing risk across the family), reinforcing that individual YES prices — including Emory's — should be discounted below naive/optimistic estimates. # Key facts (high-confidence, factual) 1. [Emory Wheel] Emory ranked #24 for 2024, 2025, 2026 editions; last at #20 in 2016. 2. [USNews/Yahoo] 2026 edition top-20 cutoff tie includes Vanderbilt, CMU, Michigan, Notre Dame at #20. 3. [GPB/WABE] Federal NIH funding disruptions (~$140M/year estimate) and 100+ grant terminations affecting Emory's research finances. 4. [Kalshi direct] Current YES = 13%, declining over past 30 days. # Cross-market signals - Kalshi related: no direct KXCOLLEGERANK-TOP20 sibling data retrieved; series searches returned no-signal results. - Polymarket: no matching markets found. - Sportsbook implied: N/A (not applicable to this event type). # Analyst opinions and speculation - claude_news synthesis: "a jump into the #20 tie-band by 2027 appears unlikely absent a significant positive shock," citing flat 3-year trend and shared (not unique) funding headwinds. - code_execution: blended estimate for Emory reaching top-20 by 2027 falls in a **20-35% range**, above pure cohort base rate due to Emory's historical volatility near the cutoff. # Directional lean per outcome - **Yes**: Supported by Emory's historically higher volatility near the cutoff (33% historical crossing rate) and no confirmed negative methodology shift; opposed by 3 straight years flat at #24, a 4-spot gap to close, and NIH funding headwinds potentially compounding. - **No**: Supported by strong ranking inertia (structural base rate 3-7% for this exact band), Emory's stagnation since 2023, and funding/budget stress; only weakly opposed by Emory's above-cohort-average volatility. # Gaps / unknowns - No 2027 methodology announcement details available. - Kalshi's treatment of ties at #20 (does a 4-way tie count as "top 20" for all four?) is unconfirmed from rules text. - Sibling market prices (WashU, Notre Dame, Georgetown, UCLA, Michigan, CMU, UVA) not directly retrieved — only illustrative modeling available. - No data on 2026→2027 edition-specific Emory metrics (graduation rate, class size, financial resources) changes yet, as 2027 edition unpublished. # Calibration anchors - Kalshi current YES price: **13%** (anchor), trending down. - Base rate for #21-25 → top-20 transition: ~3-7% cohort-wide; Emory-specific ~33% (small sample). - Blended model estimate: 20-35% range, but reconciled against strong structural inertia and no positive catalyst, suggesting true probability likely near or below Kalshi's 13%, possibly slightly above if weighting Emory's idiosyncratic volatility.
4. Forecasters Fable 5.1 + GPT-5.6 Sol · in parallel
claude-fable-5-1
58% conf
Yes 9%
No 91%
Emory has been stuck at #24 for three consecutive editions (2024-2026) and last touched #20 in 2016, so reaching the 2027 top-20 requires a 4-position jump with no announced methodology change to catalyze it. The cohort base rate for schools in the #22-24 band moving into the top 20 the following year is only ~3-7%, and Emory faces idiosyncratic NIH funding stress (~$140M/yr, 100+ grants terminated) that could weigh on financial-resource metrics. Kalshi prices YES at 13% on thin volume with a declining trend; the brief's illustrative sibling-market analysis suggests systematic overpricing across the family, so I shade modestly below the anchor while allowing for Emory's historical volatility near the cutoff and possible tie-band dynamics at #20.
gpt-5.6-sol
68% conf
Yes 11%
No 89%
Kalshi's 13% YES price is the primary anchor, though thin volume makes it less authoritative. Emory has remained #24 for three consecutive editions, while schools in the #22-24 band historically reach the top 20 in only about 3% of next editions. Its higher school-specific crossing rate provides some upside, but no favorable methodology change or positive catalyst is evident, and NIH funding disruptions create additional headwinds. I therefore place YES slightly below the market at 11%, with uncertainty from the unpublished methodology, future metrics, and unspecified treatment of ties.
5. Devil's Advocate Sonnet 5 · red-team critique
1. Both forecasters converge tightly around 9-11%, essentially anchoring on Kalshi's 13% and shading down, but neither seriously engages with the wide "blended model estimate" of 20-35% cited in the brief from Emory's idiosyncratic ~33% historical crossing rate—they dismiss this upside almost entirely without justifying why the small-sample 33% figure should be discounted so heavily versus the cohort base rate. 2. Neither forecast addresses the tie-band ambiguity explicitly flagged in the brief: "Kalshi's tie-handling convention for #20 is not specified in rules (unknown)." If a 4-way tie at #20 expands the effective "top 20" slots (as seen with ties at #17 and #20 in 2026), this mechanically increases the number of tied outcomes counted as YES, which could matter for a 4-position gap-closer like Emory—this is a real resolution-criteria risk both treat as negligible. 3. Both forecasts use the sibling-market overpricing argument to justify shading below 13%, but this reasoning is only "illustrative modeling" per the brief, not actual retrieved sibling prices—treating an untested assumption as confirmed evidence for downward adjustment overstates confidence in that direction. 4. Neither forecast considers that NIH funding cuts and grant terminations are described in the brief as affecting peer schools too ("peer schools face similar federal pressure"), meaning this headwind may be relatively neutral for Emory's *relative* rank rather than a decisive negative differentiator—both treat it as a one-sided negative without weighing this offsetting point. 5. Both confidence levels (0.58, 0.68) seem high given the brief's own acknowledged gaps: no 2027 methodology details, no 2027-specific metrics, unconfirmed tie rules, and only illustrative (not real) sibling data—the genuine uncertainty band implied by the blended 20-35% estimate suggests wider disagreement or lower confidence than expressed. 6. Neither forecast flags the declining Kalshi price trend (30-day: -6pp, 7-day: -2pp on thin 11-contract volume) as potentially noise-driven given illiquidity, yet both treat the anchor as fairly informative for calibration purposes—this tension between "thin volume, low authority" and "anchor heavily on it" is not resolved in either rationale.
6. Aggregator Fable 5.1 · final calibrated forecast
12% (63% confidence)
Yes: 12% No: 88%
Emory has been stuck at #24 for three consecutive editions with a stable methodology and no announced 2027 overhaul, and cohort base rates for #22-24 schools jumping into the top 20 are low (~3-7%). However, the critique correctly notes that both forecasters overstated the gap: in the 2026 edition Emory's #24 was the very next rank band after the four-way #20 tie, so a small score improvement or peer slip could place it in an expanded #20 tie, and NIH headwinds are largely shared by research peers rather than uniquely negative. The sibling-overpricing argument is only illustrative and the thin market's downward drift is weak signal, so I see little justification for shading meaningfully below the 13% anchor. I land at 12% YES — roughly at the market, slightly above the two forecasts, reflecting strong inertia but real adjacency to the cutoff band.
Pipeline Timing
Total pipeline time: 157.3s
Per-tool research timings shown in the Research section above.