# Current state
Kalshi's own market prices "Above 220 MMBF" at 13% (down from 23% a month ago), reflecting that Oregon's 2024 Habitat Conservation Plan (HCP) structurally cut Board of Forestry Lands harvest targets well below the 220 MMBF threshold. FY2027 AOP was finalized ~2026-07-23/30, but specific MMBF figures were not surfaced in reporting; recent actuals (FY24-25) ran 185-192 MMBF, all below threshold.
# Timeline of key events
- 2024-03-07: Board of Forestry approves Western Oregon State Forests HCP, cutting projected harvest ~20% (from ~225 MMBF to ~185 MMBF average); implementation-plan modeling had shown a range of 165-182.5 MMBF (confirmed - Oregon Capital Chronicle, OPB, Tillamook Headlight Herald).
- 2024-10: ODF's #2 manager terminated following misconduct investigation (confirmed - Wikipedia).
- 2025-09-03: BOF agenda item reports FY2024 actual harvest 187.6→192.3 MMBF sold, FY2025 actual 187.6 MMBF harvested (190.2 MMBF sold), both against planning targets of ~189.7/188 MMBF; notes FY25 sale prep delayed by 2024 wildfire-season staff drawdowns (confirmed - oregon.gov BOF PDF).
- Late 2025 (exact date unclear): New BOF harvest modeling, departing from "even flow" approach, projects a wider range of 205-230 MMBF/year — materially above the original HCP figures (reported - Tillamook Headlight Herald/Cannon Beach Gazette).
- 2026-06-13: New State Forester installed, pledges "zero tolerance" following predecessor's ouster (confirmed - Bend Source).
- 2026-07-17: ODF projects ~$20M revenue drop for counties tied to timber sale volume/price shifts (reported - KVAL).
- 2026-07-23/30: FY2027 Annual Operations Plan (AOP) and state forest management plan finalized; specific MMBF target not disclosed in available excerpts (confirmed plan exists - Tillamook Headlight Herald, TheWorldLink/TheNewsGuard).
- 2026-08-04: Coverage reiterates western state forests moving toward "more conservation" under HCP framework (reported - Western Livestock Journal).
# Event
Will Oregon Board of Forestry Lands timber harvest in FY2027 exceed 220 million board feet (MMBF)?
# Outcomes to forecast
- Yes (>220 MMBF)
- No (≤220 MMBF)
# Kalshi market anchor
**13% YES** (current). 7-day change: -10pp; 30-day change: -10pp. Price range over data window: 13%-23% (trending down). Avg daily volume: 2,110 contracts — active, liquid market with clear downward momentum toward "No."
# Sub-question answers
1. **FY2020-26 actuals vs. 220 MMBF:** Pre-HCP years (FY20-23) mostly exceeded 220 MMBF (~215-250 MMBF range, ~75% of years above threshold per code_execution analysis). Post-HCP, FY24 actual/sold ~187.6-192.3 MMBF and FY25 ~187.6-190.2 MMBF — both below 220 MMBF [oregon.gov BOF PDF].
2. **FY2027 AOP target:** Finalized July 2026, but specific MMBF figure not disclosed in available reporting [TheNewsGuard/TheWorldLink]. Given FY24-25 targets (~188-190 MMBF) and general HCP guidance, FY2027 target likely in the 175-195 MMBF range.
3. **HCP impact on sustainable harvest:** HCP (approved March 2024) cut projected harvest ~20-25% from historical ~225-249 MMBF/yr to an original planning range of 165-185 MMBF [Oregon Capital Chronicle, oregoncounties.org, Tillamook Headlight Herald]. Late-2025 remodeling (departing from even-flow) raised the range to 205-230 MMBF, a significant upward revision, though it's unclear if/how this has been formally adopted into the FY2027 AOP.
4. **Delays/disruptions:** FY2025 sale preparation lagged due to 2024 wildfire-season staffing drawdowns (only 4.9 MMBF, 2.6%, of harvest came from AOP2025 sales) [oregon.gov BOF PDF]. A large backlog (~325 MMBF) of already-sold-but-unharvested timber from pandemic-era purchasing could support higher realized harvest independent of new sale volumes [theworldlink.com]. 2026 wildfire season was active statewide (multiple June-Aug articles), a plausible continuing drag on sale execution/staffing.
5. **Other Kalshi strikes:** No other KXORBOFHARVEST threshold markets returned usable data (kalshi_related found 0 series markets with signal), so distributional inference from sibling strikes is not available.
6. **AOP vs. actual tracking:** FY24-25 actuals closely tracked targets (~187-192 MMBF actual vs. ~188-190 MMBF planned), suggesting historically modest deviation (roughly ±2-5%) between plan and outturn in recent years [oregon.gov BOF PDF].
# Key facts (high-confidence, factual)
1. [Kalshi] Current YES = 13%, down 10pp over both 7- and 30-day windows.
2. [oregon.gov BOF PDF] FY2024 harvested 187.6-192.3 MMBF; FY2025 harvested ~187.6-190.2 MMBF — both below 220 MMBF.
3. [Oregon Capital Chronicle] HCP approved 2024-03-07 cuts harvest ~20% from ~225 MMBF baseline to ~185 MMBF average.
4. [Tillamook Headlight Herald] Late-2025 modeling proposes new range of 205-230 MMBF/yr, a notable upward revision from original 165-182.5 MMBF HCP projections.
5. [theworldlink.com] ~325 MMBF backlog of already-sold, unharvested timber exists across state forests.
# Cross-market signals
- Kalshi related: No sibling KXORBOFHARVEST strikes returned data; no genuine comparison market found.
- Polymarket: No matching markets (0 hits for "Oregon timber"/"timber harvest").
- Sportsbook implied: N/A (not a sports market).
# Analyst opinions and speculation
- code_execution model: treating ~175 MMBF as likely AOP midpoint target with 10-15% execution variance yields P(>220 MMBF) ≈ 1-5%, well below the current Kalshi 13% price — suggesting Kalshi may still be overpricing YES if the older HCP targets hold.
- However, if late-2025 remodeled 205-230 MMBF range is adopted for FY2027 AOP, probability of exceeding 220 MMBF rises materially (arguably 20-40%+), which could explain why Kalshi hasn't priced YES down further/lower than 13%.
# Directional lean per outcome
- **Yes (>220 MMBF):** Supported by large sold-timber backlog (~325 MMBF) enabling catch-up harvesting; late-2025 harvest remodeling suggesting up to 230 MMBF feasible. Opposed by two consecutive years (FY24-25) landing well under 200 MMBF, HCP-driven structural caps, and wildfire/staffing disruptions recurring in 2026.
- **No (≤220 MMBF):** Strongly favored — consistent actual/planned harvests near 185-192 MMBF for two straight years, unresolved staffing/wildfire drag, and no confirmed FY2027 AOP figure exceeding 200 MMBF.
# Gaps / unknowns
- Exact FY2027 AOP MMBF target not found in available sources.
- Unclear whether late-2025 "205-230 MMBF" remodeling was formally incorporated into FY2027 AOP or remains exploratory.
- No sibling strike data to triangulate market-implied distribution.
# Calibration anchors
- Kalshi current YES price: 13% (anchor), down from 23% a month ago.
- Historical precedent: FY24-25 actuals ~186-192 MMBF (below threshold) under current HCP regime; pre-HCP years (FY20-23) mostly above 220 MMBF but regime has changed.
- Quantitative model estimate: ~1-10% depending on target assumption (base case ~3-5%).