← Back to scans

Will US test scores in Math decline? — Significant decrease

KXUSTESTSMATH-26-SD · Politics · 2026-08-23
34%
Agent
39%
Market Price
-5.0%
Edge
50%
Confidence
Volume: 26,682
Spread: 3.0c
Days to resolution: 495
Markets in event: 3
Final Rationale
Both forecasters agree the 2026 grade-8 NAEP math results will be administered and released (early 2027) inside the window, so this is a directional call. The base-rate case for No is solid: biennial significant declines in 8th-grade math are historically uncommon (~10-15%), and the most recent cycle (273→272) showed stabilization rather than continued decline, with mean reversion favoring flat-to-slightly-up. However, the critique's threshold point has real force — if resolution follows NCES's own 'statistically significant' flag, a ~2-point drop could suffice given NAEP's large samples, which materially raises YES relative to a ≥3-point cutoff; add potential noise from reduced NCES capacity and persistent TIMSS-style headwinds. That argues against discounting the 39% market anchor as heavily as both forecasters did, so I settle just above their consensus and modestly below the market, with the small delay/default-No resolution risk offsetting part of the upward adjustment.
Price vs. prediction
How the market moved after the agent's call. Solid blue line is the actual market price; dashed line is the agent's static forecast at $t{=}0$.
$n = 11$ follow-ups
Re-scan Context
This market has been scanned before. Previous predictions:
DatePredictedMarket PriceConfidence
2026-04-25 40% 55% 35%
1. Planner Opus · Fermi decomposition + tool plan
Tools chosen: kalshi_direct kalshi_related polymarket_related claude_news gdelt_news wikipedia code_execution
Sub-questions (Fermi decomposition)
  1. What exact numeric threshold does Kalshi use for 'Significant decrease' in KXUSTESTSMATH-26, and what are the sibling bucket prices in the same event?
  2. What is the historical distribution of year-over-year changes in NAEP 8th-grade math average scale scores (1990-2024), and how often does a change exceed a 'significant decrease' threshold?
  3. Is the 2026 NAEP main math assessment still scheduled for administration (Jan-Mar 2026) and when are results expected to be released — before or after the Dec 31, 2027 close?
  4. How have NCES budget cuts, staff reductions, and contract cancellations in 2025 affected the NAEP 2026 schedule and sample?
  5. What do recent interim indicators (2024 NAEP long-term trend, state assessments, NWEA MAP, Curriculum Associates i-Ready data) suggest about the direction of 8th-grade math achievement into 2026?
  6. Does the market resolve as 'No' or void if NAEP 2026 results are not published before the close date?
Planner reasoning
This resolves on the 2026 NAEP (Nation's Report Card) 8th-grade math average scale score versus 2024, with Kalshi bucketing outcomes into categories (significant decrease, slight decrease, no change, increase). The key unknowns are the exact point thresholds Kalshi uses, the historical distribution of year-over-year NAEP 8th-grade math changes (2019: 282, 2022: 274, 2024: 273), and whether NAEP 2026 will even be administered/released before the Dec 2027 close given ED staffing cuts and NCES contract turmoil.
2. Research Parallel tool calls
ToolStatusTimeItemsSummary
kalshi_direct OK 0.2s 1 ## This Market's Kalshi Data **Significant decrease** (KXUSTESTSMATH-26-SD) - Current price (probability): 39.00% - 7-day price change: -4.00% - 30-day price change: -1.00% - Average daily volume: 117 contracts - Price range: 13.00% - 57.00% - Data points: 86 days
kalshi_related OK 2.9s 1 1 related markets / summaries. series KXUSTESTSMATH: 0 markets (skipped 3 no-signal) | series KXUSTESTSREAD: 0 markets (skipped 0 no-signal) | keyword 'test scores': ok | keyword 'NAEP': no matches | keyword 'math scores': no matches
polymarket_related OK 2.8s 0 Scanned 100 active Polymarket markets, kept 0 matches. keyword 'NAEP': 0 markets | keyword 'test scores': 0 markets | keyword 'education': 0 markets
claude_news OK 27.1s 11 Here are the key findings on the 2026 NAEP math assessment status/schedule and prior score trends: **2026 NAEP Administration Status & Schedule** - Despite DOE/NCES layoffs in 2025, math and reading assessments for grades 4 and 8 (plus history/civics for grade 8) will proceed in 2026 as planned: "
gdelt_news OK 202.6s 10 GDELT: 10 articles across 3 queries (lookback=180d). 'NAEP 2026 math assessment delay': error GDELT rate-limited after retries (429) | "Nation's Report Card eighth grade math scores": error GDELT rate-limited after retries (429) | 'NCES budget cuts NAEP schedule': 10 hits
wikipedia OK 2.9s 2 Fetched 2 Wikipedia entries (0 missing pages).
code_execution OK 52.2s 0 ## Key Findings **Historical distribution of biennial (2‑year) changes (1990–2024, 14 total intervals, raw points):** - Mean change: **+0.71 pts**, std dev: **3.31 pts**; changes range from +5 to ‑8. - Declines occurred in 4/14 cycles (29%); of these, 3 were mild (‑1 to ‑3 pts) and 1 was severe (‑8
3. Evidence Brief Sonnet · 7838 chars
# Current state The Kalshi market resolves based on whether 2026 NAEP 8th-grade math average scale scores show a "Significant decrease" (exact numeric threshold not disclosed in rules/data). No 2026 NAEP results exist yet — the assessment is scheduled but not administered as of the current date. Current YES price is 39%, down from a recent high near 57% and a low of 13%, suggesting market repricing amid uncertainty. # Timeline of key events - 2019: NAEP 8th-grade math avg = 282 (confirmed, NCES). - 2022 (release): 8th-grade math avg fell to 274, an 8-point drop vs. 2019 — historic decline, lowest since 2003 (confirmed, NCES). - 2024 (release): 8th-grade math avg = 272 vs. 273 in 2022 — essentially flat/no significant change nationally; reading declined sharply but math stabilized (confirmed, NCES/Oregon state report). - 2025-02: Trump administration cancels NAEP long-term trend assessment for 17-year-olds (confirmed, claude_news). - 2025 (through year): NCES/DOE layoffs and contract cancellations reduce NAEP scope for future cycles (2029 LTT, 2032 writing) but not grade 4/8 math/reading 2026 core test (confirmed, K12 Dive/EdWeek). - 2025-12: Dept. of Education reaffirms 2026 NAEP math/reading (grades 4 & 8) "on track" for administration (confirmed, ed.gov press release). - 2026-01-26 to 2026-03-20: Scheduled administration window for 2026 NAEP grade 4/8 math and reading (reported, Whiteboard Advisors). - Early 2027: National NAEP 2026 math/reading results expected to be released, ahead of civics/history data (reported, Whiteboard Advisors) — this falls within the market's Dec 31, 2027 close window. - 2026-06 (GDELT hits, dated in future relative to research cutoff — treat cautiously): NPR-syndicated headline "After years of declines, young students show gains in reading and math" — appears to reference recent (likely state/interim) assessment data, not confirmed as NAEP 2026 national results (rumored/unconfirmed; publication date suggests this could be state-level or NWEA-type interim data, not the NAEP main assessment which releases ~early 2027). # Event Will 2026 NAEP 8th-grade national math average scale score show a "Significant decrease" (Kalshi ticker KXUSTESTSMATH-26-SD)? # Outcomes to forecast - Yes (Significant decrease occurs) - No (does not occur) # Kalshi market anchor Current YES price: **39%** (KXUSTESTSMATH-26-SD). 7-day change: -4pp; 30-day change: -1pp. Range over life of market: 13%-57%. Avg daily volume: 117 contracts (thin/moderate liquidity, moderate confidence in price signal). Trend suggests market has drifted down from higher probabilities, currently near mid-range. # Sub-question answers 1. **Exact threshold / sibling buckets** — Not disclosed in available rules or data; only the SD (Significant Decrease) bucket price was retrieved. No sibling bucket prices (e.g., "No significant change," "Significant increase") found via kalshi_related. Gap. 2. **Historical distribution of YoY/biennial NAEP 8th math changes** — Mean biennial change 1990-2024 ≈ +0.7 to +0.8 pts (std ~2.15-3.31). Declines occurred in ~29-30% of cycles, mostly mild (1-3 pts); only one severe decline (-8 pts, 2019→2022, pandemic-driven, over a 3-yr gap). Empirical P(decline ≥3 pts) in normal biennial cycles ≈10%; P(≥5 pts) ≈0-7% (code_execution). 3. **2026 NAEP schedule/release timing** — Assessment confirmed on track for Jan 26–Mar 20, 2026 administration (Whiteboard Advisors, ed.gov). Results expected **early 2027**, within the Dec 31, 2027 close (claude_news). 4. **NCES budget cuts impact** — 2025 layoffs/cancellations affected the long-term trend assessment (17-year-olds, canceled) and future cycles (2029, 2032), but grade 4/8 math/reading core 2026 assessment remains intact per DOE statements; some former staff worry about "barebones," lower-quality data (K12 Dive, EdWeek). 5. **Interim indicators** — 2024 NAEP itself showed 8th-grade math flat (272 vs 273 in 2022), i.e., stabilization not further decline; TIMSS 2023 showed steep international declines (-27 pts 8th grade vs 2019), suggesting underlying pressure persists but domestic trend has flattened. A GDELT headline (dated 2026-06, unverified/rumored) references "gains in reading and math" for "young students" post-decline years — likely state/interim data, not confirmative of NAEP national 2026 results. 6. **Resolution if results not published by close** — No explicit rule found; not addressed in provided materials. Gap — but results are expected ~early 2027, comfortably before the Dec 31, 2027 close, making this a lower-probability risk. # Key facts (high-confidence, factual) 1. [NCES] 2022 8th-grade math avg = 274 (-8 pts vs 2019); 2024 = 272 (-1 pt vs 2022, not "significant"). 2. [ed.gov, Whiteboard Advisors] 2026 NAEP math/reading grades 4/8 confirmed on track; testing window Jan 26–Mar 20, 2026; results expected early 2027. 3. [K12 Dive] 2025 NCES cuts eliminated LTT (17-year-olds) and future writing/LTT cycles but not 2026 core math/reading. 4. [code_execution] Empirical base rate of "significant" (≥3pt) biennial decline ≈10-14%; ≥5pt decline ≈0-7% historically (excluding pandemic anomaly). 5. [IES/TIMSS] International math scores continued declining sharply through 2023, indicating unresolved achievement headwinds. # Cross-market signals - Kalshi related: No sibling KXUSTESTSMATH buckets or direct comparables found (series returned 0 markets besides SD itself). - Polymarket: No matching markets found. - Sportsbook implied: N/A (not applicable to this event type). # Analyst opinions and speculation - Former NCES staff worry reduced-scope testing could yield "barebones"/lower-quality, potentially noisier data (EdWeek) — could increase measured volatility/uncertainty, raising tail risk of large swings either direction. - No direct expert directional prediction for 2026 math scores found; 2024 flat trend and stabilization narrative is the closest analog. - Unverified 2026-06 GDELT headline hints at possible "gains" narrative for younger cohorts, but conflates timing/sources and is not NAEP national grade-8 data — treat as rumored, low-confidence. # Directional lean per outcome - **Yes (Significant decrease)**: Supported by residual pandemic-era achievement gaps, TIMSS international decline signal, and reduced NAEP sample quality risk potentially amplifying volatility. Opposed by: 2024 data already showing stabilization/flat trend (not decline), historical base rates showing ~10-15% chance of ≥3pt decline, and random-walk model actually predicting a rebound (+0.4 to +0.8 pts). - **No (not significant decrease)**: Supported by stabilization trend (2022→2024 flat), statistical base rates (~85-90% historical probability of no significant decline), mean-reversion dynamics predicting modest gain. Opposing: possibility that reduced federal testing infrastructure/budget cuts introduce added downside risk or measurement noise; TIMSS trend signals unresolved weakness. # Gaps / unknowns - Exact Kalshi numeric threshold defining "Significant decrease" not found — critical missing parameter. - No sibling bucket prices to cross-check implied full distribution. - No explicit rule on resolution if 2026 results delayed past Dec 31, 2027 (though release is expected ~early 2027, buffer exists). - Unclear if any partial/interim NAEP data leaked or previewed before official 2027 release (GDELT hit ambiguous/unverified). # Calibration anchors - Kalshi current YES price: **39%** (down from peak 57%, above trough 13%) — primary anchor. - Historical base rate for "significant" (≥3pt) NAEP 8th-grade math decline in normal biennial cycles: ~10-14%; blended regime-adjusted estimate (accounting for post-pandemic volatility): ~20-30%. - 2024 cycle (most recent precedent) showed no significant decline (-1 pt, effectively flat) — closest analog favoring "No."
4. Forecasters Opus + GPT · in parallel
claude-opus-5
0.42
Yes 33%
No 67%
The 2026 NAEP grade 4/8 math assessment was administered Jan–Mar 2026 with results expected early 2027, comfortably inside the Dec 31, 2027 close, so the main question is directional rather than timing. Historical base rates show statistically significant biennial declines in 8th-grade math are uncommon (~10-15% of cycles, mostly mild), and the most recent cycle (2022→2024, 273→272) was essentially flat, suggesting stabilization rather than continued freefall. Countervailing signals — TIMSS 2023's steep international declines, persistent unresolved pandemic learning loss, and NCES budget/staffing cuts that could add measurement noise — justify a regime-adjusted probability above the raw historical base rate. The Kalshi anchor sits at 39% (down from a 57% peak), which seems modestly rich relative to base rates plus the 2024 stabilization precedent, so I shade slightly below the market to ~33%.
gpt-5.5
0.58
Yes 28%
No 72%
Kalshi YES is anchored at 39%, but the historical base rate points lower: normal biennial NAEP 8th-grade math cycles show only about a 10–14% chance of a roughly ≥3-point significant decline, and the 2024 result was essentially flat after the 2022 pandemic drop. The undisclosed exact threshold and lack of sibling bucket prices argue against moving too aggressively, while residual post-pandemic learning issues, TIMSS weakness, and possible NAEP data-quality volatility keep YES materially above the pre-pandemic base rate. The schedule/release evidence supports that the 2026 core NAEP math test is likely to occur and resolve before close, so timing risk is limited. Overall, the evidence points toward No because stabilization and mean reversion are stronger than the downside indicators, but uncertainty around the threshold justifies a still-elevated 28% YES probability.
5. Devil's Advocate Sonnet · red-team critique
1. Both forecasters converge on ~28-33% YES, diverging meaningfully from the 39% Kalshi price, but neither explains why a thin/moderate-liquidity market (117 contracts/day) with a wide historical range (13%-57%) should be discounted so heavily rather than treated as a stronger anchor — they assert the market is "rich" without addressing that informed traders may have information (e.g., NCES data-quality warnings, TIMSS trends) not fully captured in the base-rate model. 2. Neither forecast grapples with the critical unknown threshold issue: since the exact "significant decrease" cutoff is undisclosed, the empirical base rate calculations (~10-14% for ≥3pt) could be miscalibrated if the actual Kalshi threshold is lower (e.g., ≥2pt) or uses a different statistical significance test (NAEP's official "statistically significant" designation often triggers at smaller magnitudes than intuitive point thresholds), which could push true probability up significantly. 3. Both cite the "regime-adjusted" estimate of 20-30% from the brief's calibration anchors but then land below that range (28% and 33%), without fully justifying why they weight the raw historical base rate more heavily than the regime-adjusted figure given explicit NCES/EdWeek warnings about "barebones" and noisier future data collection. 4. Neither forecaster addresses the tail scenario where reduced sample size/methodology changes from NCES budget cuts could artificially produce a "significant" decrease purely from increased measurement noise/variance, independent of true underlying achievement — this is flagged in the brief ("could increase measured volatility... raising tail risk of large swings either direction") but not incorporated as a distinct upside risk to YES. 5. The unverified 2026-06 GDELT "gains" headline is treated by both as low-confidence and dismissed, but if this reflects even a weak leading signal correlated with NAEP outcomes, both forecasts may be underweighting a potential positive interim indicator; conversely, if it's noise, they should be more explicit that its dismissal isn't just convenient confirmation of their No-lean prior. 6. Neither model explicitly addresses resolution risk if results are delayed past Dec 31, 2027, or if Kalshi resolves "No" by default absent data — a small but nonzero scenario that could mechanically inflate No probability beyond what the substantive achievement-decline analysis alone would suggest.
6. Aggregator Opus · final calibrated forecast
34% (50% confidence)
Yes: 34% No: 66%
Both forecasters agree the 2026 grade-8 NAEP math results will be administered and released (early 2027) inside the window, so this is a directional call. The base-rate case for No is solid: biennial significant declines in 8th-grade math are historically uncommon (~10-15%), and the most recent cycle (273→272) showed stabilization rather than continued decline, with mean reversion favoring flat-to-slightly-up. However, the critique's threshold point has real force — if resolution follows NCES's own 'statistically significant' flag, a ~2-point drop could suffice given NAEP's large samples, which materially raises YES relative to a ≥3-point cutoff; add potential noise from reduced NCES capacity and persistent TIMSS-style headwinds. That argues against discounting the 39% market anchor as heavily as both forecasters did, so I settle just above their consensus and modestly below the market, with the small delay/default-No resolution risk offsetting part of the upward adjustment.
Pipeline Timing
Total pipeline time: 298.8s
Per-tool research timings shown in the Research section above.